### 4 March 2011

TO: Undergraduate Studies Council Members

Kelly Ackerson (for Kathryn Hillenbrand) Marilyn Kritzman Ariel Anderson Doris Ravotas

Nicholas Andreadis David Reinhold (for Provost Tim Greene)

Raja Aravamuthan

Kent Baldner

Bruce Ferrin

Keith Hearit

Peter Krawutschke

Dianna Sachs

Charlotte Thralls

Vince Torano

Geoff Whitehurst

Jeremy Wu

FROM: Bruce Ferrin, Chair

RE: Meeting Notice and Proposed Agenda

UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES COUNCIL Tuesday, 8 March 2011, 3 to 5 p.m. Faculty Lounge, Bernhard Center

### PROPOSED AGENDA

### **Procedural Items**

- 1. Welcome and introductions
- 2. Acceptance of the agenda
- 3. Approval of the minutes of 8 February 2011
- 4. Chair's Remarks

# Information/Discussion Items

Discussion of council charges:

- 1. Review the availability of resources and services to foster student retention and develop recommendations for enhancing them if determined necessary. Examples might include but not be limited to the First-Year Experience, mid-term grade reporting, grading scales (i.e. +/-). Focus on expansion of mid-term grading and the Attendance Initiative.
- 4. Consider recommendation on use of a syllabus template for all courses, based on recommendations of the Committee to Oversee General Education. Consider creation of a joint Memorandum of Action with the Graduate Studies Council.

## Other

# Adjournment

Elected council members who cannot attend a meeting of the Undergraduate Studies Council are asked to send a substitute of their choice who also represents their respective college. Non-elected members are not restricted as to whom they may designate to substitute for them.

- c J. Bartholomew (Academic Advising Liaison), C. Cumming, B. Dennis,
  - S. Dwan, E. Evans, S. Miller, R. Ott, R. Solomon, T. Woolfork-Barnes