6 May 2011

TO: Undergraduate Studies Council Members

Kelly Ackerson (for Kathryn Hillenbrand) Marilyn Kritzman Ariel Anderson Doris Ravotas

Nicholas Andreadis David Reinhold (for Provost Tim Greene)

Raja Aravamuthan

Kent Baldner

Bruce Ferrin

Keith Hearit

Peter Krawutschke

Dianna Sachs

Charlotte Thralls

Vince Torano

Geoff Whitehurst

Jeremy Wu

FROM: Bruce Ferrin, Chair

RE: Meeting Notice and Proposed Agenda

UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES COUNCIL Tuesday, 10 May 2011, 3 to 5 p.m. Faculty Lounge, Bernhard Center

PROPOSED AGENDA

Procedural Items

- 1. Welcome
- 2. Acceptance of the agenda
- 3. Approval of the minutes of 12 April
- 4. Chair's Remarks

Discussion/Action Items

- 1. Curriculum proposal Department of Foreign Languages create a minor in Canadian Studies [CAS791R]
- 2. Accelerated Degree Program policy revisions
- 3. Syllabus template Memorandum of Action revisions
- 4. Request for assessment of general education and baccalaureate-level writing requirement from Committee to Oversee General Education Marcia Fetters, Chair, COGE
- 5. Discussion of role of COGE in "reassessment of general education" Marcia Fetters
- 6. Curriculum implications of sustainability initiative
- 7. Election of council officers chair, vice chair, and secretary

Other

Adjournment

Elected council members who cannot attend a meeting of the Undergraduate Studies Council are asked to send a substitute of their choice who also represents their respective college. Non-elected members are not restricted as to whom they may designate to substitute for them.

- c J. Bartholomew (Academic Advising Liaison), C. Cumming, B. Dennis,
 - S. Dwan, E. Evans, M. Fetters, S. Miller, R. Ott, R. Solomon, T. Woolfork-Barnes