9 January 2012

TO: Undergraduate Studies Council Members

Ariel Anderson Kathryn Hillenbrand Charlotte Thralls
Nicholas Andreadis Peter Krawutschke Vince Torano
Raja Aravamuthan Marilyn Kritzman Geoff Whitehurst

Kent Baldner Doris Ravotas Erin Kaplan (or WSA appointed student)

Bruce Ferrin David Reinhold (for Provost Tim Greene) Alyson Wiley

Keith Hearit Dianna Sachs

GUEST: Member of Graduate Studies Council

FROM: Bruce Ferrin, USC Council Chair

RE: Meeting Notice and Proposed Agenda

UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES COUNCIL Tuesday, 17 January 2012, 3 to 5 p.m. Faculty Lounge, Bernhard Center

PROPOSED AGENDA

Procedural Items

- 1. Welcome
- 2. Acceptance of the agenda
- 3. Approval of the minutes of 6 December
- 4. Chair's Remarks

Discussion / Action Items

- Graduate Studies Council recommendations regarding the Academic Integrity Policy drafts and GSC recommendations on Credit Hour & Monitoring Enrollment approved by GSC on 12/15/2011 – Guest from Graduate Studies Council
- 2. Discussion of Charge #2: Medical school issues pertaining to undergraduate curriculum, etc. Clarification: What contribution can existing undergraduate programs make to the medical school curriculum? What can the medical school contribute to existing undergraduate programs? What is WMU doing to prepare undergraduate students to thrive in any medical school, not just ours?
- 3. Discussion of Charge #4: Review the description of the role statement and standing charges and assess the effectiveness of council practices.
- 4. Discussion of Charge #5: Address any continuing or outstanding issues or initiatives as deemed necessary by the council. To the extent possible, conclude any outstanding initiative by producing a memorandum of action, report or resolution.

Other

Elected council members who cannot attend a meeting of the Undergraduate Studies Council are asked to send a substitute of their choice who also represents their respective college. Non-elected members are not restricted as to whom they may designate to substitute for them.

c J. Bartholomew (Academic Advising Liaison), C. Cumming, B. Dennis, J. Hutchinson, S. Miller, R. Ott, R. Solomon, T. Woolfork-Barnes