4 May 2012

TO: Undergraduate Studies Council Members

Ariel Änderson Kathryn Hillenbrand Charlotte Thralls
Nicholas Andreadis Peter Krawutschke Vince Torano
Raja Aravamuthan Marilyn Kritzman Geoff Whitehurst

Kent Baldner Doris Ravotas Sean Nicholl (or WSA appointed student)

Bruce Ferrin David Reinhold (for Provost Tim Greene) Alyson Wiley

Keith Hearit Dianna Sachs

FROM: Bruce Ferrin, USC Council Chair

RE: Meeting Notice and Proposed Agenda

UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES COUNCIL Tuesday, 8 May 2012, 3 to 5 p.m. Faculty Lounge, Bernhard Center

PROPOSED AGENDA

Procedural Items

- 1. Welcome
- 2. Acceptance of the agenda
- 3. Approval of the minutes of 10 April
- 4. Chair's Remarks

Discussion / Action Items

- 1. Academic Policy Drafts approved by Graduate Studies Council and forwarded to USC for approval:
 - credit hour definition,
 - monitoring enrollment policy
- 2. Two Undergraduate Studies Council recommendations returned to USC by the Faculty Senate Executive Board Proposed language to WMU General Education Policy re:
 - Syllabus requirement
 - One time course offering prior to curriculum review process

Other

Elected council members who cannot attend a meeting of the Undergraduate Studies Council are asked to send a substitute of their choice who also represents their respective college. Non-elected members are not restricted as to whom they may designate to substitute for them.

- c J. Bartholomew (Academic Advising Liaison), C. Cumming, B. Dennis,
 - J. Hutchinson, S. Miller, R. Ott, R. Solomon, T. Woolfork-Barnes