6 November 2012

TO:	Research Policies Council Members		
	Osama Abudayyeh	James Kiddle	Mary Ann Stark
	Brooks Applegate	Daniel Litynski	Sandy Steinbach (for Vice President Van Der Kley)
	Steve Bertman	Lisa Minnick	Susan Steuer
	Martha Councell-Vargas	Cheyla Milo	Stephen Tasko
	Kristin Everett	Muhammad Razi	Alan Wuosmaa
	Muralidhar Ghantasala	Vladimir Risukhin	
	Timothy Greene	Susan Stapleton	
GUESTS:	Jody Brylinsky, Associate Provost for Institutional Effectiveness Jim Gilchrist, Vice Provost for Budget and Personnel and Chief Information Officer		
FROM:	Brooks Applegate, Council Chair		
RESEARCH POLICIES COUNCIL			

Thursday, 8 November 2012, 2:30 p.m. Faculty Lounge, Bernhard Center Proposed Agenda

Procedural Items

- 1. Welcome and Introductions
- 2. Acceptance of the agenda
- 3. Approval of minutes of 11 October 2012

Discussion Items

- 1. Academic Program Review and Planning Procedure Jody Brylinsky, Associate Provost for Institutional Effectiveness
- 2. Proposed changes to the policy for using email for research Jim Gilchrist, Vice Provost for Budget and Personnel and Chief Information Officer

Reports

- 1. Council Chair Brooks Applegate
- 2. Vice President for Research Dan Litynski
- 3. Dean of the Graduate College Sue Stapleton

Continued / Old Business

1. What did you hear from the faculty you represent?

New Business

- 1. Discussion and Action Plan for each 2012/13 RPC Charge
 - a. Establish RPC/Office of the Vice President for Research (OVPR) subcommittee to review RPC role statement and evaluate procedure and processes. (chaired by Mary Ann Stark selection of members)
 - b. Address any continuing or outstanding issues or initiatives as deemed necessary
 - c. Yearly review of state of research ethics policy and procedures in collaboration with OVPR
 - d. Conflict of Interest (COI)
 - e. Establish criterion, standards and benchmarks for annual review of Faculty Research and Creative Activities Award (FRACAA)
 - f. Create subcommittee for Research and Creative Activities Day (Steve Tasko & Martha Councell-Vargas)
 - g. Establish criterion, standards and benchmarks for annual review of Support for Faculty Scholar Award (SFSA)
 - h. Continue discussion of medical school issues related to research
 - i. Establish a subcommittee to recommend research-oriented technologies in collaboration with the Academic and Information Technology Council and OVPR.

Adjournment

Elected council members who cannot attend a meeting of the Research Policies Council are asked to send a substitute of their choice who also represents their respective colleges. Non-elected members are not restricted as to whom they may designate to substitute for them.

c Jody Brylinsky, Jim Gilchrist, WMU-AAUP, Graduate Student Advisory Committee