#### 12 June 2013

TO: Research Policies Council Members

Osama Abudayyeh Muralidhar Ghantasala David Rudge Brooks Applegate Timothy Greene Susan Stapleton Steve Bertman James Kiddle Mary Ann Stark Lori Brown Michael Kiella Susan Steuer Martha Councell-Vargas Jan Van Der Klev Daniel Litvnski Kristin Everett Muhammad Razi Alan Wuosmaa

FROM: Brooks Applegate, Council Chair

RESEARCH POLICIES COUNCIL Thursday, 13 June 2013, 2:30 p.m. Faculty Lounge, Bernhard Center Proposed Agenda

### **Procedural Items**

- 1. Welcome new members to RPC (guests and substitutes)
- 2. Acceptance of the agenda
- 3. Approval of minutes of 16 May 2013

### **Discussion Items**

## Reports

- 1. Council Chair Brooks Applegate
- 2. Vice President for Research Dan Litynski
- 3. Dean of the Graduate College Sue Stapleton

# **Continued/Old Business**

## Reports related to RPC charges:

- 1. RPC/Office of the Vice President for Research subcommittee to review RPC role statement and evaluate procedure and processes Mary Ann Stark, Alan Wuosmaa and Muralidhar Ghantasala
- 2. Address any continuing or outstanding issues or initiatives as deemed necessary Brooks Applegate
- 3. Yearly review of state of research ethics policy and procedures in collaboration with OVPR Paula Kohler and Brooks Applegate
- 4. Conflict Of Interest Paula Kohler
- Establish criterion, standards and benchmarks for annual review of Faculty Research and Creative Activities Award Steven Bertman
- 6. Research and Creative Activities Day Stephen Tasko and Martha Councell-Vargas
- 7. Establish criterion, standards and benchmarks for annual review of Support for Faculty Scholar Award Brooks Applegate and Muhammad Razi
- 8. Continue discussion of medical school issues related to research Brooks Applegate
- 9. Establish a subcommittee to recommend research-oriented technologies in collaboration with the Academic and Information Technology Council and OVPR Jan Van Der Kley

## **New Business**

1. Election of officers for AY 2013-14 (Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary)

## **Adjournment**

Elected council members who cannot attend a meeting of the Research Policies Council are asked to send a substitute of their choice who also represents their respective colleges. Non-elected members are not restricted as to whom they may designate to substitute for them.

 Paula Kohler, Vladimir Risukhin, Stephen Tasko, Allison Weiner, WMU-AAUP, Graduate Student Advisory Committee