12 November 2013

TO:	Research Policies Council Members		
	Osama Abudayyeh	Muralidhar Ghantasala	David Rudge
	Brooks Applegate	Timothy Greene	Susan Stapleton
	Steve Bertman	Michael Kiella	Mary Ann Stark
	Lori Brown	Daniel Litynski	Susan Steuer
	Paul Ciccantell	Muhammad Razi	Patti VanWalbeck
	Martha Councell-Vargas	Matthew Reid	Alan Wuosmaa

FROM: Brooks Applegate, Council Chair

RESEARCH POLICIES COUNCIL Thursday, 14 November 2013, 2:30 p.m. Faculty Lounge, Bernhard Center Proposed Agenda

Procedural Items

- 1. Welcome
- 2. Acceptance of the agenda
- 3. Approval of minutes of 10 October 2013

Discussion / Information Item

Reports

- 1. Council Chair Brooks Applegate
- 2. Vice President for Research Daniel Litynski
- 3. Dean of the Graduate College Susan Stapleton

Continued/Old Business

1. Update on Council Charges

New Business

 Article 34 of the WMU/AAUP Agreement requires an AAUP eligibility check-off (bargaining unit members) prior to a Support for Faculty Scholar Award (SFSA) or Faculty Research and Creative Activities Award (FRACAA). Currently Faculty Research Travel Fund (FRTF) and Publication of Papers and Exhibition of Creative Works (PPPE) have an administrative sign-off for eligibility. This needs to be added to SFSA & FRACAA. The RPC needs to direct OVPR to add this eligibility requirement and sign-off for the eligibility prior to committee review.

Adjournment

Elected council members who cannot attend a meeting of the Research Policies Council are asked to send a substitute of their choice who also represents their respective colleges. Non-elected members are not restricted as to whom they may designate to substitute for them.