7 April 2014

TO: Research Policies Council Members

Osama Abudayyeh Muralidhar Ghantasala David Rudge
Brooks Applegate Timothy Greene Susan Stapleton
Steve Bertman Michael Kiella Mary Ann Stark
Lori Brown Daniel Litynski Susan Steuer
Paul Ciccantell Muhammad Razi Patti VanWalbeck

Martha Councell-Vargas Matthew Reid

FROM: Brooks Applegate, Council Chair

RESEARCH POLICIES COUNCIL Thursday, 10 April 2014, 2:30 p.m. Faculty Lounge, Bernhard Center Proposed Agenda

Procedural Items

- 1. Welcome
- 2. Acceptance of the agenda
- 3. Approval of minutes of 13 March 2014

Continued/Old Business

- 1. Update on Council Charges
 - a. RPC Role (PowerPoint)
 - b. Council Initiatives
 - c. Review of Ethics Policies & Procedures
 - d. Review of Conflict of Interest (COI)
 - e. Faculty Research and Creative Activities Award (FRACAA)
 - f. Research and Creative Activities Day
 - g. Support for Faculty Scholar Award (SFSA)
 - h. Western Michigan University Homer Stryker M.D. School of Medicine
 - i. Research-Oriented Technologies
- 2. RPC / Data Governance Tactical Action Community (TAC)

Discussion / Information Items

- 1. Cycling of the RPC Executive Members Selection of AY14/15 RPC Leadership
- 2. Office of the Vice President for Research / Hanover use of the Department Discovery Plans

Reports

- 1. Council Chair Brooks Applegate
- 2. Vice President for Research Daniel Litynski
- 3. Dean of the Graduate College Susan Stapleton

New Business

Adjournment

Elected council members who cannot attend a meeting of the Research Policies Council are asked to send a substitute of their choice who also represents their respective colleges. Non-elected members are not restricted as to whom they may designate to substitute for them.