10 June 2014

TO: Research Policies Council Members

Osama Abudayyeh Muralidhar Ghantasala Susan Stapleton **Brooks Applegate** Timothy Greene Mary Ann Stark Steve Bertman Michael Kiella Susan Steuer Lori Brown Daniel Litynski Patti Van Walbeck Paul Ciccantell Muhammad Razi Andre Venter Martha Councell-Vargas Matthew Reid Udaya Wagle

Cat Crotchett David Rudge

FROM: Brooks Applegate, Council Chair

RESEARCH POLICIES COUNCIL Thursday, 12 June 2014, 2:30 p.m. Faculty Lounge, Bernhard Center Proposed Agenda

Procedural Items

- 1. Welcome and Introductions
- 2. Acceptance of the agenda
- 3. Approval of minutes of 15 May 2014

Continued/Old Business

- 1. Final Update on Council Charges
 - a. RPC Role
 - b. Council Initiatives
 - c. Review of Ethics Policies & Procedures
 - d. Review of Conflict of Interest (COI)
 - e. Faculty Research and Creative Activities Award (FRACAA) Is there a need for Faculty Research and Creative Activities Support Fund (FRACASF) balancing?
 - f. Research and Creative Activities Day
 - g. Support for Faculty Scholar Award (SFSA)
 - h. Western Michigan University Homer Stryker M.D. School of Medicine
 - Research-Oriented Technologies
- 2. RPC / Data Governance Tactical Action Community (TAC)

Discussion / Information Item

1. Faculty Research and Creative Activities Support Fund (FRACASF) Allocations

Reports

- 1. Council Chair Brooks Applegate
- 2. Vice President for Research Daniel Litynski
- 3. Dean of the Graduate College Susan Stapleton

New Business

1. Election of AY14/15 RPC Leadership

Adjournment

Elected council members who cannot attend a meeting of the Research Policies Council are asked to send a substitute of their choice who also represents their respective colleges. Non-elected members are not restricted as to whom they may designate to substitute for them.