Western Michigan University

Faculty Senate

4 December 2015

TO: Undergraduate Studies Council Members

Kelly AckersonMegan Grunert Kowalske (for James Cousins)Dianna SachsAriel AndersonThye FischmanErika SchleisRaja AravamuthanKathryn HillenbrandChristopher Tremblay

JoAnn Atkin Carla Koretsky Geoff Whitehurst
Kent Baldner Marilyn Kritzman Suzan Ayers (for Delores Walcott)

Lisa Coons David Reinhold (for Provost Tim Greene)

GUESTS: Alexander Cannon, School of Music

Mike Tarn, Chair, and Tom Rienzo, Department of Business Information Systems

Andy Kline, Department of Chemical and Paper Engineering

Kapseong Ro, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Bruce Ferrin, Chair, Ad Hoc Committee on General Education

FROM: Marilyn Kritzman, USC Council Chair

UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES COUNCIL Tuesday, 8 December 2015, 3 to 5 p.m.

*** PLEASE NOTE MEETING LOCATION - Room 204 (MLK), Bernhard Center ***

PROPOSED AGENDA

Procedural Items

- 1. Welcome
- 2. Acceptance of the agenda
- 3. Approval of the minutes of 10 November
- 4. Chair's Remarks Marilyn Kritzman

Information / Discussion / Action Items

- 1. Review of Curriculum Proposals
 - a. School of Music [M5.15-16] Establish a new degree, Bachelor of Musical Arts (BMA) *tabled on 10 November* Alexander Cannon
 - b. Department of Business Information Systems [HCOB 3115] Establish a new major in Business Analytics Mike Tarn and Tom Rienzo
 - c. Department of Chemical and Paper Engineering [CEAS 15-001-CHP] Establish an Accelerated Graduate Degree Program in Chemical Engineering Andy Kline
 - d. Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering [CEAS 15-042R-MAE] Develop an Accelerated Graduate Degree Program in the Master of Science in Aerospace Engineering degree program – Kapseong Ro
- 2. 4 p.m. Progress Report from the Ad Hoc Committee on General Education Bruce Ferrin, Chair
- 3. Report from the Subcommittee on 5000+ Course Issue

Other

Adjournment

Elected council members who cannot attend a meeting of the Undergraduate Studies Council are asked to send a substitute of their choice who also represents their respective college. Non-elected members are not restricted as to whom they may designate to substitute for them.

c Alexander Cannon, Mike Tarn, Tom Rienzo, Andy Kline, Kapseong Ro, Bruce Ferrin, Carrie Cumming, Marilyn Duke, Edwin Martini, Steve Miller, Randy Ott, David Paul, Toni Woolfork-Barnes, Western Student Association, Graduate Student Association, WMU-AAUP