# Western Michigan University

Faculty Senate

## 6 January 2016

TO: Undergraduate Studies Council Members

Kelly Ackerson James Cousins Dianna Sachs Ariel Anderson Thye Fischman Erika Schleis

Raja Aravamuthan Kathryn Hillenbrand Christopher Tremblay JoAnn Atkin Carla Koretsky Delores Walcott Kent Baldner Marilyn Kritzman Geoff Whitehurst

Lisa Coons David Reinhold (for Provost Tim Greene)

GUESTS: Megan Slayter, Chair, and Nina Nelson, Department of Dance

James Muchmore, Department of Teaching, Learning and Educational Studies

Edwin Martini, Associate Dean, Extended University Programs

William Rantz, Interim Chair, Department of Chemical and Paper Engineering

Heather Petcovic, Department of Geosciences

John Geiser, Chair, Committee to Oversee General Education

FROM: Marilyn Kritzman, USC Council Chair

UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES COUNCIL Tuesday, 12 January 2016, 3 to 5 p.m. Faculty Lounge, Bernhard Center PROPOSED AGENDA

### **Procedural Items**

- 1. Welcome
- 2. Acceptance of the agenda
- 3. Approval of the minutes of 8 December 2015
- 4. Chair's Remarks Marilyn Kritzman

# Information / Discussion / Action Items

- 1. Review of Curriculum Proposals
  - a. Department of Dance [D11.15-16] Create online Undergraduate Certificate in Dance Studio Management Nina Nelson and Megan Slayter
  - b. Department of Teaching, Learning and Educational Studies [CEHD 622] Eliminate the Elementary Minor for Speech Pathology and Audiology James Muchmore
  - c. Extended University Programs [EUP 01-15] Establish an Accelerated JD Degree Program for University Studies majors Edwin Martini
  - d. Department of Chemical and Paper Engineering [CEAS 15-002-CHP] Offer an Undergraduate Certificate in Paper Engineering William Rantz
  - e. Department of Geosciences [CAS-16-74] Establish an Accelerated Graduate Degree Program in Geosciences (replaces CAS 15-105) Heather Petcovic
- 2. Committee to Oversee General Education Rubric for Area II Humanities John Geiser
- 3. USC General Education Revision Feedback

## Other

### Adjournment

Elected council members who cannot attend a meeting of the Undergraduate Studies Council are asked to send a substitute of their choice who also represents their respective college. Non-elected members are not restricted as to whom they may designate to substitute for them.

c Nina Nelson, Megan Slayter, James Muchmore, Heather Petcovic, William Rantz, John Geiser, Carrie Cumming, Marilyn Duke, Edwin Martini, Steve Miller, Randy Ott, David Paul, Toni Woolfork-Barnes, Western Student Association, Graduate Student Association, WMU-AAUP