Western Michigan University

Faculty Senate

2 November 2016

TO: Undergraduate Studies Council Members and Liaison

Kelly Ackerson Sharon Carlson Taylor Hall

Ariel Anderson Lisa Coons Kathryn Hillenbrand Raja Aravamuthan Diane Riggs (for James Cousins) Marilyn Kritzman

JoAnn Atkin Terrence Curran David Reinhold (for Provost Tim Greene)

Jane Baas Betsy Drummer Dianna Sachs

Kent Baldner Thye Fischman Stephen Hasenick (for Geoff Whitehurst)

GUESTS: Tim Greene, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Jody Brylinsky, Associate Provost for Institutional Effectiveness Decker Hains, Chair, Committee to Oversee General Education

Linwood Cousins, Director, Africana Studies Program

FROM: Marilyn Kritzman, Chair

RE: Meeting Notice and Agenda

UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES COUNCIL Tuesday, 8 November 2016, 3 to 5 p.m. Faculty Lounge, Bernhard Center PROPOSED AGENDA

A. Procedural Items

- 1. Call to order
- 2. Acceptance of the Agenda
- 3. Approval of the Minutes of 11 October 2016
- 4. Chair Comments Marilyn Kritzman

B. Informational / Discussion Items

- 1. Provost Comments Tim Greene (3:10 to 3:40 p.m.)
- 2. Higher Learning Commission requirements for faculty credentials undergraduates teaching undergraduate courses Jody Brylinsky (3:40 to 4:10 p.m.)

C. Action / Discussion Items

- 1. Committee to Oversee General Education Update Decker Hains; COGE Appointments (4:10 to 4:25 p.m.)
- 2. Curriculum Proposals: Arts and Sciences, Africana Studies Linwood Cousins (4:25 to 4:40 p.m.)
 - a. Change name of Africana Studies major to African American and African Studies
 - b. Change name of Africana Studies minor to African American and African Studies
- 3. Transfer of Credit Committee Appointments Dave Reinhold (4:40 to 4:45 p.m.)
- 4. Policy on Block Transfer of Military Credit Dave Reinhold (4:45 to 4:50 p.m.)
- 5. Provisional Acceptance Policy Dave Reinhold (4:50 to 4:55 p.m.)
- D. Other
- E. Adjournment

Elected members who cannot attend the meeting are asked to send a substitute of their choice who also represents their respective college. Non-elected members are not restricted as to whom they may designate to substitute for them.

c Jody Brylinksy, Decker Hains, Linwood Cousins, Carrie Cumming, Marilyn Duke, Edwin Martini, Steve Miller, Randy Ott, David Paul, Toni Woolfork-Barnes, Western Student Association, Graduate Student Association, WMU-AAUP