



Faculty Senate

#### 7 February 2017

TO: Undergraduate Studies Council Members and Liaison

Kelly Ackerson	Lisa Coons
Ariel Anderson	Terrence Curran
Raja Aravamuthan	Betsy Drummer (Liaison)
Jane Baas (for Dean Gary Bischof)	Bruce Ferrin
Dave Paul (for Kent Baldner spring 2017)	Thye Fischman
Sharon Carlson	Taylor Hall

Kathryn Hillenbrand Marilyn Kritzman Edwin Martini (Advisory Member) David Reinhold (for Provost Tim Greene) Dianna Sachs Geoff Whitehurst

- GUESTS:Donald Meyer, Chair, Department of Economics<br/>Steven Ziebarth, Chair, Department of Mathematics<br/>Yuanlong Liu, Chair, Department of Human Performance and Health EducationFROM:Marilyn Kritzman, Chair
- **RE:** Meeting Notice and Agenda

#### UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES COUNCIL Tuesday, 14 February 2017, 3 to 5 p.m. Faculty Lounge, Bernhard Center PROPOSED AGENDA

### A. Procedural Items

- 1. Call to order
- 2. Acceptance of the Agenda
- 3. Approval of the Minutes of 17 January
- 4. Chair Comments Marilyn Kritzman

# **B.** Discussion / Action Items – Curriculum Proposals

- 1. Arts and Sciences, Economics:
  - a. CAS 17-78-ECON Establish a Secondary Education Economics Minor
  - b. CAS 17-116-ECON Establish a major and B.S. degree in Economics
- 2. Arts and Sciences, Mathematics:
  - a. CAS 17-120–MATH Create an Accelerated M.A. program in Mathematics
- 3. Education and Human Development, Human Performance and Health Education:
  - a. CEHD 786 combine and streamline the Physical Education Teacher Education (PETE) and Health Education Teacher Education (HETE) programs into a single comprehensive major, Physical and Health Education Teacher Education: K-12 (PHEJ).

## C. Informational / Discussion / Action Items

- 1. Selection of member to serve on the University Assessment Steering Committee
- 2. MOA-16/13 Revise Undergraduate Non-degree Certificate Programs
- 3. 2016-17 Council Charges
- D. Other
- E. Adjournment

Elected members who cannot attend the meeting are asked to send a substitute of their choice who also represents their respective college. Non-elected members are not restricted as to whom they may designate to substitute for them.

c Donald Meyer, Steven Ziebarth, Yuanlong Liu, Carrie Cumming, Marilyn Duke, Steve Miller, Randy Ott, Toni Woolfork-Barnes, Graduate Student Association, WMU-AAUP