



Faculty Senate

## 7 March 2017

TO: Undergraduate Studies Council Members and Liaison

10.	Ondergraduate Studies Council Members and Liaison		
	Kelly Ackerson	Lisa Coons	Kathryn Hillenbrand
	Ariel Anderson	Terrence Curran	Marilyn Kritzman
	Raja Aravamuthan	Betsy Drummer (Liaison)	Edwin Martini (Advisory Member)
	Jane Baas (for Dean Gary Bischof)	Bruce Ferrin	David Reinhold (for Provost Tim Greene)
	Dave Paul (for Kent Baldner spring 2017)	Thye Fischman	Dianna Sachs
	Sharon Carlson	Taylor Hall	Geoff Whitehurst
GUESTS:	Representative from the Department of Geosciences		
	John Petrovic, Department of Mathematics		
	Richard Zinser, Interim Chair, Department of Family and Consumer Sciences Shawn Tenney, Director of Service-Learning Mervyn Elliott, Chair, Ad Hoc General Education Design Committee		
FDOM.			
FROM:	Marilyn Kritzman, Chair		

RE: Meeting Notice and Agenda

## UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES COUNCIL Tuesday, 14 March 2017, 3 to 5 p.m. Faculty Lounge, Bernhard Center PROPOSED AGENDA

## A. Procedural Items

- 1. Call to order
- 2. Acceptance of the Agenda
- 3. Approval of the Minutes of 14 February
- 4. Chair Comments Marilyn Kritzman
- B. Discussion / Action Items Curriculum Proposals
  - 1. Arts and Sciences, Geosciences
    - a. CAS 17-15(A)–GEOS Create a certificate in Applied Hydrogeology (undergraduate)
  - 2. Arts and Sciences, Mathematics John Petrovic
    - a. CAS 17-120–MATH Create an Accelerated M.A. program in Mathematics
  - 3. <u>Education and Human Development, Family and Consumer Sciences</u> Richard Zinser a. CEHD 771R – Create a new major, Workforce Education and Development

## C. Informational / Discussion / Action Items

- 1. (3:30 to 4 p.m.) Potential Process to Identify Service Learning Courses Shawn Tenney
- 2. (4 to 4:30 p.m.) Discussion on General Education Mervyn Elliott
- 3. 2016-17 Council Charges
- D. Other
- E. Adjournment

Elected members who cannot attend the meeting are asked to send a substitute of their choice who also represents their respective college. Non-elected members are not restricted as to whom they may designate to substitute for them.

c Mervyn Elliott, John Petrovic, Mohamed Sultan, Shawn Tenney, Richard Zinser, Carrie Cumming, Marilyn Duke, Steve Miller, Randy Ott, Toni Woolfork-Barnes, Graduate Student Association, WMU-AAUP