WESTERN MICHIGAN UNIVERSITY

Faculty Senate

5 April 2017

TO: Undergraduate Studies Council Members and Liaison

Kelly Ackerson Diane Riggs (for James Cousins) Marilyn Kritzman

Ariel Anderson Terrence Curran Edwin Martini (Advisory Member)
Raja Aravamuthan Betsy Drummer (Liaison) David Reinhold (for Provost Tim Greene)

Jane Baas (for Dean Gary Bischof)Bruce FerrinDianna SachsDave Paul (for Kent Baldner spring 2017)Thye FischmanGeoff WhitehurstSharon CarlsonTaylor Hall

Lisa Coons Kathryn Hillenbrand

GUESTS: Yuanlong Liu, Chair, Human Performance and Health Education Steven Butt, Chair, and Paul Engelmann, Engineering Design, Manufacturing and Management Systems

Shawn Tenney, Director of Service-Learning

Marilyn Duke, Chair, Intellectual Skills Program Advisory Committee

FROM: Marilyn Kritzman, Chair **RE**: Meeting Notice and Agenda

UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES COUNCIL Tuesday, 11 April 2017, 3 to 5 p.m. Faculty Lounge, Bernhard Center PROPOSED AGENDA

A. Procedural Items

- 1. Call to order
- 2. Acceptance of the Agenda
- 3. Approval of the Minutes of 14 March
- 4. Chair Comments Marilyn Kritzman

B. Discussion / Action Items – Curriculum Proposals

- 1. Education and Human Development Human Performance and Health Education Yuanlong Liu
 - a. CEHD 793 Delete the Health Education Minor: Community Emphasis
- 2. <u>Engineering and Applied Sciences Engineering Design, Manufacturing and Management Systems Steven Butt and Paul Engelmann</u>
 - a. CEAS-17-05 EDMMS Allow all 78 hours of transferable coursework from Muskegon Community College
 into the B.S. in Manufacturing Engineering Technology, which is 10 more than the currently allowed 68
 hours

C. Informational / Discussion / Action Items

- 1. Service-Learning course designation documents Shawn Tenney
- 2. Reports from the Intellectual Skills Program Advisory Committee Marilyn Duke
 - a. Catalog Copy Revision
 - b. Junior Standing
 - c. Placement Rubric
 - d. Reading Self Placement
 - e. Sophomore Standing
- 3. Finals Week Policy Marilyn Kritzman
- 4. 2016-17 Council Charges
- D. Other
- E. Adjournment

Elected members who cannot attend the meeting are asked to send a substitute of their choice who also represents their respective college. Non-elected members are not restricted as to whom they may designate to substitute for them.

Yuanlong Liu, Steven Butt, Paul Engelmann, Shawn Tenney, Marilyn Duke, Carrie Cumming, Steve Miller, Randy Ott, WMU-AAUP Toni Woolfork-Barnes, Graduate Student Association