WESTERN MICHIGAN UNIVERSITY

Faculty Senate

Marilyn Kritzman

Dianna Sachs

Edwin Martini (Advisory Member)

David Reinhold (for Provost Tim Greene)

Gail Rouscher (for Geoff Whitehurst)

5 May 2017

TO: Undergraduate Studies Council Members and Liaison

Kelly Ackerson Diane Riggs (for James Cousins)

Ariel Anderson Terrence Curran
Raja Aravamuthan Betsy Drummer (Liaison)
Jane Baas (for Dean Gary Bischof) Bruce Ferrin

Dave Paul (for Kent Baldner spring 2017)

Sharon Carlson

Thye Fischman
Taylor Hall

Lisa Coons Kathryn Hillenbrand

GUESTS: David Code, School of Music

Shawn Tenney, Director of Service-Learning

Marilyn Duke, Chair, Intellectual Skills Program Advisory Committee

FROM: Marilyn Kritzman, Chair **RE**: Meeting Notice and Agenda

UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES COUNCIL Tuesday, 9 May 2017, 3 to 5 p.m. Faculty Lounge, Bernhard Center PROPOSED AGENDA

A. Procedural Items

- 1. Call to order
- 2. Acceptance of the Agenda
- 3. Approval of the Minutes of 11 April
- 4. Chair Comments Marilyn Kritzman

B. Discussion / Action Items – Curriculum Proposals

- 1. College of Aviation Aviation Sciences Gail Rouscher
 - a. AVS-093 Change the title of the Aviation Maintenance Technology program to Aviation Technical Operations
- 2. College of Fine Arts School of Music David Code
 - a. M11.1617 Create the Undergraduate Certificate: Music Therapy Equivalency

C. Informational / Discussion / Action Items

- 1. Service-Learning course designation documents Shawn Tenney
- 2. Reports from the Intellectual Skills Program Advisory Committee Marilyn Duke
 - a. Catalog Copy Revision
 - b. Junior Standing
 - c. Placement Rubric
 - d. Reading Self Placement
 - e. Sophomore Standing
- 3. MOA-17/04 Revision to Advising Directors General Education Substitution Authority Marilyn Kritzman
- 4. Election of members to the Committee to Oversee General Education Marilyn Kritzman
- 5. Finals Week Policy Marilyn Kritzman
- 6. 2016-17 Council Charges
- D. Other
- E. Adjournment

Elected members who cannot attend the meeting are asked to send a substitute of their choice who also represents their respective college. Non-elected members are not restricted as to whom they may designate to substitute for them.

c David Code, Shawn Tenney, Marilyn Duke, Decker Hains, Carrie Cumming, Steve Miller, Randy Ott, WMU-AAUP Toni Woolfork-Barnes, Graduate Student Association