WESTERN MICHIGAN UNIVERSITY

Faculty Senate



27 110101111101 2010

TO: Undergraduate Studies Council Members and Liaison

Ariel Anderson Clifton Ealy David Reinhold (for Provost Bott)

Kent BaldnerVickie EdwardsDianna SachsJessica BirnbaumSamantha HackJoe SanchezLisa CoonsKathryn HillenbrandXiaoyun Shao

Carrie Cumming Marilyn Kritzman Betsy Drummer (Academic Advising Liaison)

Michael Duffy Staci Perryman-Clark (for Dean Bischof) Edwin Martini (Advisory Member)

GUESTS: Philip Egan and Scott Slawinski, Department of English

Peter Voice, Department of Geological and Environmental Sciences

Mushtaq Luqmani, Chair, Department of Marketing Priscilla Lambert, Department of Political Science

Sally Hadden, Department of History

Matthew Cavalli, Associate Dean, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Jason Johnson, Department of Computer Science

Mike Tarn, Chair, Department of Business Information Systems

Leigh Ford, Director, School of Communication Shawn Tenney, Director, Service Learning

Marilyn Duke, Chair, Intellectual Skills Program Advisory Committee

FROM: Bruce Ferrin, Chair

RE: Meeting Notice and Agenda

UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES COUNCIL

Tuesday, 4 December 2018, 3 to 5 p.m., Room 204 (MLK), Bernhard Center – Please note meeting location PROPOSED AGENDA

A. Procedural Items

- 1. Call to order
- 2. Welcome and Introductions
- 3. Acceptance of the Agenda
- 4. Approval of the Minutes of 13 November
- 5. Chair Comments Bruce Ferrin

B. Action Items - Curriculum Proposals

- 1. Department of English (postponed on 13 November 2018) Philip Egan and Scott Slawinski
 - a. CAS 17-329: Create an Accelerated Graduate Degree Program in English
- 2. Department of Geological and Environmental Sciences (postponed on 13 November 2018) Peter Voice
 - a. CAS 17-298: Delete MA in Earth Science (accelerated)
 - b. CAS 17-299: Create MS in Earth Science (accelerated)
- 3. Department of Marketing Mushtag Lugmani
 - a. HCOB 17-36: Change name of Electronic Business Marketing major to Digital Marketing and eCommerce
- 4. Department of Political Science Priscilla Lambert
 - a. CAS 17-317 Create Accelerated Graduate Degree Program MA in Political Science
- 5. Department of History Sally Hadden
 - a. CAS 17-352: Create an Accelerated Graduate Degree Program in History
 - b. CAS 17-353: Create an Accelerated Graduate Degree Program in Public History
- 6. College of Engineering and Applied Sciences Matthew Cavalli
 - a. CEAS-184-086: Establish a Bachelor of Science in Engineering (Biomedical)
- 7. Departments of Computer Science and Business Information Systems Jason Johnson, Mike Tarn, Ed Martini
 - a. CEAS-184-090: Establish a Bachelor of Science in Cybersecurity (online)
 - b. HCOB 17-42: Establish a Bachelor of Science in Cybersecurity (online)

4 December 2018 Undergraduate Studies Council Agenda – continued

- 8. School of Communication Leigh Ford
 - c. CAS 17-344 Establish a Digital Media and Journalism Major
 - d. CAS 17-345 Eliminate the Journalism Major in the Bachelor of Arts
 - e. CAS 17-346 Eliminate the Organizational Communication Major in the Bachelor of Arts
 - f. CAS 17-347 Eliminate the Public Relations Major in the Bachelor of Arts
 - g. CAS 17-348 Establish a Strategic Communication Major that will combine and replace the Organizational Communication and Public Relations Majors
 - h. CAS 17-349 Establish a Strategic Communication Certificate in Diversity and Inclusion
 - i. CAS 17-350 Establish a Strategic Communication Certificate in Media and Technology
 - j. CAS 17-351 Establish a Strategic Communication Certificate in Public Relations
 - k. CAS 17-354 Establish a Strategic Communication Certificate in Leadership and Teamwork

C. Discussion / Action Items

- 1. Service Learning Course Approval Subcommittee Shawn Tenney
- 2. Report on Faculty Involvement in Recruitment and Retention Marilyn Kritzman
- 3. Intellectual Skills Program Advisory Committee 2018-19 charges Marilyn Duke, Chair
- D. Other
- E. Adjournment

Elected members who cannot attend the meeting are asked to send a substitute of their choice who also represents their respective college. Non-elected members are not restricted as to whom they may designate to substitute for them.

c Nicholas Witschi, Philip Egan, Scott Slawinski, Mohamed Sultan, Peter Voice, Mushtaq Luqmani, John Clark, Priscilla Lambert, Wilson Warren, Sally Hadden, Matthew Cavalli, Jason Johnson, Steven Carr, Mike Tarn, Leigh Ford, Shawn Tenney, Marilyn Duke, Decker Hains, Steve Miller, Randy Ott, WMU-AAUP, Toni Woolfork-Barnes, Graduate Student Association, Western Student Association