Western Michigan University

Faculty Senate

27 November 2018

TO: Research Policies Council Members

Marilyn Kritzman (for Osama Abudayyeh) Willem Homan
Onur Arugaslan Katherine Joslin
Manuel Bautista Terri Goss Kinzy

Jennifer Bott Aneudy Mota (Graduate Student Association)

Chris Coryn
Martha Councell-Vargas
Anthony DeFulio
Jill Rowe
Paul Solomon
Susan Stapleton

Jonathan Eiseman (Graduate Student Association) Patti Van Walbeck (for Vice President Van Der Kley)

Muralidhar Ghantasala Andre Venter

FROM: Susan Steuer, Chair

RE: Meeting Notice and Agenda

RESEARCH POLICIES COUNCIL Thursday, 6 December 2018, 2:30 to 4:30 p.m.

Please note meeting location - Room 204 (MLK), Bernhard Center

PROPOSED AGENDA

A. Procedural Items

- 1. Welcome and Introduction of new members and guests
- 2. Acceptance of the Agenda
- 3. Approval of Minutes of 8 November 2018

B. Action Items

- 1. Review of Policy Sherine Obare
- 2. Update on Interdisciplinary Collaborations Group
- 3. Updates and Concerns from the floor

C. Information Items

- 1. Highlights of WMU Research this month Office of the Vice President for Research
- 2. Research Policies and Procedures update Office of the Vice President for Research

D. Other

- 1. Council Chair Susan Steuer
- 2. Office of the Vice President for Research
- 3. Dean of the Graduate College Susan Stapleton

E. Adjournment

Elected members who cannot attend the meeting are asked to send a substitute of their choice who also represents their respective college. Non-elected members are not restricted as to whom they may designate to substitute for them.

Statement from website: The Research Policies Council advocates for discovery in the University by developing, reviewing, and recommending policies that support and enhance research and creative activities, which may be funded or unfunded, and may involve graduate or undergraduate students.