WESTERN MICHIGAN UNIVERSITY

Faculty Senate



8 February 2019

TO: Research Policies Council Members

Osama Abudayyeh Willem Homan
Onur Arugaslan Katherine Joslin
Manuel Bautista Terri Goss Kinzy

Jennifer Bott Aneudy Mota (Graduate Student Association)

Chris Coryn
Martha Councell-Vargas
Anthony DeFulio
Jill Rowe
Paul Solomon
Susan Stapleton

Jonathan Eiseman (Graduate Student Association) Patti Van Walbeck (for Vice President Van Der Kley)

Muralidhar Ghantasala Andre Venter

GUEST: Jennifer Bott, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

FROM: Susan Steuer, Chair **RE:** Meeting Notice and Agenda

RESEARCH POLICIES COUNCIL Thursday, 14 February 2019

PLEASE NOTE THE MEETING LOCATION: Room 204 (MLK), Bernhard Center

ALSO NOTE: The Support for Faculty Scholar Award (SFSA) review begins at 2 p.m., with the regular meeting immediately following.

PROPOSED AGENDA

A. Procedural Items

- 1. Welcome
- 2. Acceptance of the Agenda
- 3. Approval of Minutes of 10 January 2019

B. Information Items

- 1. Named Professorship Plan Jennifer Bott
- 2. Inventory subcommittee Muralidhar Ghantasala
- 3. Interdisciplinary collaborations group update
- 4. Faculty Research and Creative Activities Award update Manuel Bautista

C. Action Items

- 1. Review of Memoranda of Action dealing with the Faculty Research and Creative Activities Support Fund
- 2. Proposal for refinement of the Final Preparation and Publication of Papers and Exhibition of Creative Works Fund
- 3. Emerging scholar nominations
- 4. Facilities and Administrative procedure and form

D. Updates and Reports

- 1. Council Chair Susan Steuer
- 2. Office of the Vice President for Research Terri Goss Kinzy or Sarah Pratt
- 3. Dean of the Graduate College Susan Stapleton

E. Adjournment

Elected members who cannot attend the meeting are asked to send a substitute of their choice who also represents their respective college. Non-elected members are not restricted as to whom they may designate to substitute for them.