## STERN MICHIGAN UNIVERSIT

Faculty Senate

5 March 2019

TO: Undergraduate Studies Council Members and Liaison

> Jim Muchmore (for Ariel Anderson) Clifton Ealy Charlie Kurth (for Kent Baldner) Vickie Edwards Jessica Birnbaum Kathryn Hillenbrand Lisa Coons Marilyn Kritzman

Carrie Cumming Rebecca Natale (Western Student Association)

Michael Duffy Anthony Helms (for Dean G. Bischof) David Reinhold (for Provost Jennifer Bott)

Dianna Sachs Xiaoyun Shao

Betsy Drummer (Academic Advising Liaison)

Edwin Martini (Advisory Member)

FROM: Bruce Ferrin, Chair

RE: Meeting Notice and Agenda

## UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES COUNCIL Tuesday, 12 March 2019, 3 to 5 p.m., Faculty Lounge, Bernhard Center PROPOSED AGENDA

## A. Procedural Items

- Call to order
- 2. Welcome and Introductions
- 3. Acceptance of the Agenda
- 4. Approval of the Minutes of 12 February
- 5. Chair Comments Bruce Ferrin

## B. Discussion / Action Items

- 1. USC representation on the Ad Hoc Electronic Curriculum Process Committee
- 2. 2018-19 Council Charges
  - a. Charge #3: Review and evaluate current policies concerning final exam scheduling
  - b. Charge #2: Review and evaluate current policies concerning the last day of registration for summer I & II course offerings
  - c. Charge #1: Review the scope and description of the council's role statement and assess the effectiveness of the council's practices. Address any continuing or outstanding issues or initiatives as directed by the Faculty Senate Executive Board.

Discussion on General Principles of Curriculum Change

- 6. Role of the Dean
- m. ... In addition, the Graduate Studies Council, the Undergraduate Studies Council, and the provost may request university-level review of specific proposals that would otherwise be final at the dean's level.
- 3. Proposed policy for adding a major or minor to a previously awarded degree
- 4. Proposed policy for differentiating between a curriculum and a major
- C. Other
- D. Adjournment

Elected members who cannot attend the meeting are asked to send a substitute of their choice who also represents their respective college. Non-elected members are not restricted as to whom they may designate to substitute for them.