Western Michigan University

Faculty Senate



TO: Research Policies Council Members

Osama Abudayyeh Willem Homan
Onur Arugaslan Katherine Joslin
Manuel Bautista Terri Goss Kinzy

Jennifer Bott Aneudy Mota (Graduate Student Association)
Chris Coryn Jill Rowe

Martha Councell-Vargas Paul Solomon
Anthony DeFulio Susan Stapleton

Jonathan Eiseman (Graduate Student Association) Patti Van Walbeck (for Vice President Van Der Kley)

Susan Steuer Andre Venter

FROM: Muralidhar Ghantasala, Vice Chair **RE:** Meeting Notice and Agenda

RESEARCH POLICIES COUNCIL
Thursday, 11 April 2019
2:30 to 4:30 p.m., Faculty Lounge, Bernhard Center
PROPOSED AGENDA

A. Procedural Items

- 1. Welcome
- 2. Acceptance of the Agenda
- 3. Approval of Minutes of 14 March 2019

B. Information Items

- Charge 5: Develop a procedure for the regular review of university policies related to research and creative activities by the RPC and a schedule for conducting these regular reviews on a five-year rotating basis. – Steuer, Ghantasala, and Kinzy
- 2. Charge 6: Recommend best practices to communicate research and creative activities and highlighting the accomplishments in research and creative activity by faculty and share them with University Relations.
 - Steuer and Ghantasala

C. Action Item

None

D. Updates and Reports

- 1. Council Chair and Vice Chair Steuer and Ghantasala
- 2. Office of the Vice President for Research Kinzy
- 3. Dean of the Graduate College Stapleton

E. Adjournment

Elected members who cannot attend the meeting are asked to send a substitute of their choice who also represents their respective college. Non-elected members are not restricted as to whom they may designate to substitute for them.