ESTERN MICHIGAN UNIVERSITY

Faculty Senate

5 September 2019

TO: Research Policies Council Members

> Osama Abudayyeh Onur Arugaslan Manuel Bautista Jennifer Bott Christine Byrd-Jacobs

Paul Solomon Steven Carr Susan Steuer Chris Coryn Patti Van Walbeck (for Vice President Van Der Kley)

Martha Councell-Vargas Andre Venter

Anthony DeFulio

GUEST: Richard Gershon, Faculty Senate President

FROM: Onur Arugaslan, Chair, and Anthony DeFulio, Vice Chair

RE: Meeting Notice and Agenda

> **RESEARCH POLICIES COUNCIL** Thursday, 12 September 2019 2:30 to 4:30 p.m., Faculty Lounge, Bernhard Center PROPOSED AGENDA

Wanda Hadley David Huffman

Terri Goss Kinzy Jill Rowe

A. Procedural Items

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Welcome
- 3. Acceptance of the Agenda
- 4. Approval of Minutes of 16 May 2019

B. Information/Discussion Item

1. Presentation of 2019-20 council charges – Gershon

C. Action Items

- 1. MOA-19/08 Creation of the Eligibility to Serve as WMU Principal Investigators on Sponsored Projects Policy
- 2. MOA-19/09 Revision of the Research Misconduct Policy

D. Updates and Reports

- 1. Council Chair and Vice Chair Arugaslan and DeFulio
- 2. Vice President for Research Kinzy
- 3. Interim Dean of the Graduate College Byrd-Jacobs

E. Other Business

F. Adjournment

Elected members who cannot attend the meeting are asked to send a substitute of their choice who also represents their respective college. Non-elected members are not restricted as to whom they may designate to substitute for them.

c Richard Gershon, WMU-AAUP, Graduate Student Association