Western Michigan University



6 January 2020

TO: Research Policies Council Members

Marilyn Kritzman (for Osama Abudayyeh) David Huffman Onur Arugaslan Terri Goss Kinzy

Manuel Bautista Heather Petcovic (designee for Provost and Vice President Jennifer Bott)

Christine Byrd-Jacobs
Zari Carpenter (Graduate Student Association)
Steven Carr
Jill Rowe
Paul Solomon
Susan Steuer

Chris Coryn Patti Van Walbeck (designee for Vice President Jan Van Der Kley)

Martha Councell-Vargas Andre Venter

Anthony DeFulio Graduate Student Association representative

Wanda Hadley

FROM: Onur Arugaslan, Chair

RE: Meeting Notice and Agenda

RESEARCH POLICIES COUNCIL
Thursday, 9 January 2020
2:30 to 4:30 p.m., Faculty Lounge, Bernhard Center

PROPOSED AGENDA

A. Procedural Items

- 1. Call to order
- 2. Welcome
- 3. Acceptance of the Agenda
- 4. Approval of Minutes of 5 December 2019

B. Information Item

1. College Communication Staff invited to present how they communicate research/faculty achievements (invited to arrive around 3 pm)

C. Action Items

- 1. MOA-19/14 Fixed-Price Agreement Policy Kritzman
- MOA-19/08 Creation of Eligibility to Serve as WMU Principal Investigators on Sponsored Projects Policy DeFulio
- 3. MOA-19/09 Revision of the Research Misconduct Policy AAUP Feedback Arugaslan
- 4. Revised Procedure for Faculty Research and Creative Activities Award Bautista

D. Updates and Reports

- 1. Council Chair and Vice Chair Arugaslan and DeFulio
- 2. Vice President for Research and Innovation Kinzy
- 3. Interim Dean of the Graduate College Byrd-Jacobs

E. Other Business

F. Adjournment

Elected members who cannot attend the meeting are asked to send a substitute of their choice who also represents their respective college. Non-elected members are not restricted as to whom they may designate to substitute for them.

c WMU-AAUP, Graduate Student Association

Faculty Senate