## WESTERN MICHIGAN UNIVERSITY

Faculty Senate

### 5 February 2020

**TO**: Undergraduate Studies Council Members

Jessica Birnbaum

Clifton Ealy

Riley Lukomski (Western Student Association)

Deanna Bush

Carrie Cumming

Marilyn Kritzman

Michael Duffy

Kate Lal onde

David Reinhold (for Provost Jennifer Bott)

Dianna Sachs

Davida Schroeter

Michael Duffy
Michael Duffy
Kate LaLonde
Ruby Eagle (Western Student Association)

Kate LaLonde
Irma Lopez

Xiaoyun Shao

Academic Advising Liaison – Betsy Drummer Advisory Member – Edwin Martini

**GUESTS**: Louann Bierlein Palmer, Graduate Studies Council

Magdalena Niewiadomska-Bugaj, Chair, Department of Statistics

Koorosh Naghshineh, Chair, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

FROM: Bruce Ferrin, Chair

RE: Meeting Notice and Agenda

# UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES COUNCIL Tuesday, 11 February 2020, 3 to 5 p.m., Faculty Lounge, Bernhard Center PROPOSED AGENDA

### A. Procedural Items

- 1. Call to order
- 2. Welcome and Introductions
- 3. Acceptance of the Agenda
- 4. Approval of the Minutes of 14 January 2020
- 5. Chair Comments Bruce Ferrin

#### B. Action Items

 MOA-20/02 Revision to Create Faculty-Driven Prior Learning Assessment (PLA) Opportunities for Undergraduate Programs – Louann Bierlein Palmer

<u>Curriculum Proposal – Statistics</u> (postponed on 12 November 2019) – Magdalena Niewiadomska-Bugaj

- 2. CAS 17-389-REVISED: Create accelerated graduate degree program in Data Science
- <u>Curriculum Proposals Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering</u> (postponed on 14 January 2020) Koorosh Naghshineh
- 3. CEAS 19-03-REVISED: Create a concentration in Solid Mechanics and Structures for the Mechanical Engineering Program
- 4. CEAS 19-04-REVISED: Create a concentration in Automotive for the Mechanical Engineering Program
- 5. CEAS 19-05-REVISED: Create a new minor in Mechanical Engineering
- C. Other
- D. Adjournment

Elected members who cannot attend the meeting are asked to send a substitute of their choice who also represents their respective college. Non-elected members are not restricted as to whom they may designate to substitute for them.

c Louann Bierlein Palmer, Magdalena Niewiadomska-Bugaj, Koorosh Naghshineh, Marilyn Duke, Steve Miller, Randy Ott, WMU-AAUP, Graduate Student Association. Western Student Association