# WESTERN MICHIGAN UNIVERSITY

Faculty Senate

8 May 2018

TO: Osama Abudayyeh

Onur Arugaslan Steve Bertman

Stevens Bonhomme (Graduate Student Association) Christine Byrd-Jacobs (for Interim Provost Stapleton) Damon Chambers (Graduate Student Association)

Chris Corvn

Martha Councell-Vargas

Anthony DeFulio

FROM: Susan Steuer, Chair

RE: Meeting Notice and Agenda

Muralidhar Ghantasala Willem Homan Katherine Joslin

James Kiddle (for Andre Venter)

Sherine Obare Jill Rowe Paul Solomon

Patti Van Walbeck (for Vice President Van Der Kley)

RESEARCH POLICIES COUNCIL
Thursday, 17 May 2018, 2:30 to 4:30 p.m.
Faculty Lounge, Bernhard Center
PROPOSED AGENDA

## A. Procedural Items

- 1. Acceptance of Agenda
- 2. Approval of Minutes of 12 April 2018
- 3. Chair's Remarks

#### B. Action Items

- 1. Funding Reports
- 2. Internal funding
- 3. Election of 2018-19 RPC officers (Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary)
- 4. Election of chair of the Research Screening Committee

## C. Discussion/Information Items

- 1. WMU Research Advancement Program
- 2. Undergraduate Research Excellence Award
- 3. Discussion of 2017-18 Council Charges and Suggested Charges for 2018-19

### D. Other

- 1. Council Chair Steuer
- 2. Associate Vice President for Research Obare
- 3. Acting Dean of the Graduate College Byrd-Jacobs

## E. Adjournment

Elected members who cannot attend the meeting are asked to send a substitute of their choice who also represents their respective college. Non-elected members are not restricted as to whom they may designate to substitute for them.

c Terri Goss Kinzy, Susan Stapleton, Andre Venter, WMU-AAUP, Graduate Student Association