Groups

Groups in W-Exchange let you choose a set of people that you wish to collaborate with and easily set up a collection of resources for those people to share. Resources available to Groups include a shared Outlook inbox, a shared calendar or a document library for collaborating on files.

Permission to group resources are controlled by group membership. Add a new member to your Group and they get access to all that Group’s resources. Need to remove someone’s access? Just remove that person from the Group and their access to the group resources is removed. No need to manually assigning permissions to individual people or resources. 

Features

Groups enable people to easily share and collaborate using the items listed below. 

  • Email distribution or membership list (Outlook)
  • OneDrive file storage (OneDrive)
  • Notebook (OneNote)
  • Site (SharePoint)
  • Group email address
  • Group calendar
  • Plans (Planner)

Creating a Group

Microsoft Offers two different types of Groups for different collaboration scenarios. 

Enable Mail List for your group

If you would like your Group to provide mail list functions follow these steps

  1. Log in to W-Exchange
  2. Open Outlook on the Web
  3. Select your group
  4. Click the Group Settings menu, then Edit Group
  5. Check the box to 'Send all group conversations and events to members' inboxes.'

How to Use Groups

Familiarize yourself with the basics of Groups. Once you are familiar with Groups, check out the resources below for specific instructions on managing group resources. 

Accessibility

Limitations 

  • Owners per Group: 100
  • Groups a user can create: 250
  • Number of members: More than 1,000*
  • File storage: 1 Terabyte

*Users might notice delays when accessing the calendar and conversations in large Groups in Outlook

 Groups Questions

Which applications create Groups?

In addition to creating a group on its own, creating a plan or a team can also create a Group.

What happens when a Group is deleted?

Any content associated with that Group is also deleted. If a deleted Group contains a Team or a Plan, these items will also be deleted. 

What is the difference between public and private?

All Teams, Groups and Planner content is only visible to members of the Group. Private Groups require an invitation to join while public Groups are open for anyone to join. 

Can I restrict who has access to email a Group?

No, anyone at WMU is able to email a Group. If you need to control access, please use a mailing list.

How do I delete a conversation from a Group?

Group owners have permission to delete a group conversation in Outlook.