Microsoft Teams is a chat based work space in W-Exchange which provides the following collaboration features
- Team chat and web video conferencing with screen sharing
- 1 on 1 text chat and video chat
- OneDrive file storage (OneDrive)
- Notebook (OneNote)
- Site (SharePoint)
- Plans (Planner)
- Embed content from other W-Exchange applications.
Create a Standard Team
NOTE: If you would like to create a team that includes an email distribution list, please follow the next set of instructions below. If not, please continue.
Create Team with an Email Distribution List
If you would like to create a Team that also provides a mail list functions follow these steps
- Log in to W-Exchange
- Create a Group
- Click the Group Settings menu, then Edit Group
- Check the box to 'Send all group conversations and events to members' inboxes.'
- Determine what Team type you would like
- Create the Team, selecting the option to 'Create a team from an existing Office 365 group'
How to use Teams
Get started with the Interactive Demo. This guided tour of Teams to will explain how to use the app and teach you about key features.
- Use Planner in Microsoft Teams
- Use OneNote Staff Notebook in Teams
- Use Microsoft Teams in the classroom
Download and install Microsoft Teams on all your devices:
Microsoft provides the following learning resources for using the accessibility features of Teams.
The desktop or mobile app version of Microsoft Teams is recommended over the web version. The web version may be difficult to navigate with a screen reader.
- Owners per Team: 100
- Teams a user can create: 250
- Number of members: 999
- Chat participants: 20
- Meeting participants: 80
Can I create a team without a group?
You can add a team to an existing group. Creating a new team will also create a group.
What happens when a team is deleted?
Any content associated with that team is also deleted. If a deleted team contains a plan, these items will also be deleted.
What is the difference between public and private?
All team content is only visible to members of the team. Private teams require an invitation to join while public teams are open for anyone to join.
Can I restrict who has access to email a team?
No, anyone at WMU is able to email a team. If you need to control access, please use a mailing list.
Can I delete messages within a channel of a team?
You can only delete individual messages you have posted. Deleting a channel in a team will delete all messages in that channel.
Can I delete messages within the conversations of a team?
You can only delete individual messages you have sent. Team conversation threads can not be deleted.
What happens when a team owner's account is removed?
If a team has no owner, members are unable to self-promote a new owner. Please open a work order in IT Direct to have a new owner appointed.
How do I place an audio or video call?
Many of the calling features in a team require the Teams desktop app.
Can someone outside of WMU join my team?
Yes, you can invite guests to join your team.
How long can I use a team that I create?
A Team will be eligible for deletion after one year of inactivity. The Team owner will be contacted before a Team is deleted.
Can I archive or restore a team that I created?
Yes, a team can be archived to keep around for reference in a read-only, searchable format and then restored again at later date if it needs to be used again.