WMU News

Trustees approve appointments

June 26, 1998

KALAMAZOO -- The appointments of two new department chairpersons were approved June 26 by the Western Michigan University Board of Trustees.

Dr. James A. Leja was named interim chairperson of the Department of Occupational Therapy and Dr. Hung-Lian Tang was named interim chairperson of the Department of Business Information Systems. Both appointments are effective July 1, 1998.

Leja has been a faculty member in WMU's Department of Blind Rehabilitation since 1986. He also has served as associate dean for graduate education in the College of Health and Human Services since 1997. He earned his bachelor's and master's degrees from WMU and his doctoral degree from Southern Illinois University. He will replace Dr. Susan K. Meyers, who has resigned.

Tang joined the business information systems faculty in 1992 after teaching for six years at Bowling Green State University. He earned his bachelor's degree from National Chengchi University in Taiwan, his master's degree from the University of Kansas and his doctoral degree from the University of Nebraska at Lincoln. He will replace Dr. Joel P. Bowman, who is returning to the faculty.

The board also approved the return to the faculty of Dr. John W. Petro, from chairperson to professor of mathematics and statistics, effective June 30, 1999, and of Dr. James A. Visser, from dean of continuing education to assistant professor of public affairs and administration, effective June 30, 1998.

In addition, the trustees accepted the resignations of these faculty and staff members: Dr. Michael W. Bahr, associate professor of special education, effective Aug. 21, 1998; Dr. Neale R. Chumbler, assistant professor of sociology, effective May 31, 1998; Dr. Todd M. Edwards, assistant professor of family and consumer sciences, effective Aug. 9, 1998; Elisabeth Friedman, assistant professor of political science, effective Aug. 9, 1998; Dr. Jerry W. Gilley, associate professor of counselor education and counseling psychology, effective Aug. 9, 1998; Dr. Nancy Guy, assistant professor of music, effective Aug. 9, 1998; Dr. Bradley S. Hayden, associate professor of English, effective April 18, 1998; Beverly Moore, director of the Institute for the Study of Race and Ethnic Relations, effective May 15, 1998; Dr. Christos Pantzalis, assistant professor of finance and commercial law, effective July 15, 1998; Dr. Tammi Vacha-Haase, assistant professor of counselor education and counseling psychology, effective Aug. 9, 1998; and Dr. Ilya Zaslavsky, assistant professor of geography, effective May 12, 1998.

The board also granted an administrative leave to Dr. Robert I. Sundick, chairperson of the Department of Anthropology, from July 1, 1998, through June 30, 1999, and approved professional development leaves for: Dr. Craig S. Arnold, professor of music, from Aug. 10, 1998, through Aug. 8, 1999; Stuart Dybek, professor of English, from Sept. 1, 1998, through Dec. 21, 1998; Dr. Janice D. Gobert, assistant professor of science studies, from June 15, 1998, through June 21, 2000; and Dr. Mark S. Richardson, associate professor of English, from Aug. 10, 1998, through April 23, 1999.

In further action, the trustees granted sabbatical leaves for the 1998-99 academic year to: Dr. Allen Carey-Webb, associate professor of English; Dr. David L. Code, associate professor of music; Dr. Michael S. Nassaney, associate professor of anthropology; and Dr. Martine Sauret, associate professor of foreign languages and literatures.

Media contact: Ruth Stevens, 616 387-8400, ruth.stevens@wmich.edu

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
616 387-8400