WMU News

Trustees approve two appointments

September 18, 1998

KALAMAZOO -- The Western Michigan University Board of Trustees approved the appointments of two department chairpersons at its Sept. 18 meeting.

Dr. James C. Petersen was named interim chairperson of the Department of Anthropology and Dr. Vladimir Tsukruk was named chairperson of the Department of Construction Engineering, Materials Engineering and Industrial Design. Both appointments became effective July 1.

Petersen, who also has been associate dean of the College of Arts and Sciences since 1996, is assuming additional duties as interim chair, replacing Dr. Robert I. Sundick who is on a year-long administrative leave approved by the board in June. A member of the Department of Sociology faculty since 1974, Petersen also has served as associate director, acting director and director of WMU's Kercher Center for Social Research. He earned bachelor's and master's degrees from the University of Northern Iowa and his doctoral degree from the University of Iowa.

Tsukruk has been serving as interim chairperson of his department since 1996. A native of Ukraine, he came to this country in 1992 and worked for a year as a research scientist at the University of Akron's Institute of Polymer Science before joining the WMU faculty. He did his undergraduate work at Kiev State University and earned master's and doctoral degrees in polymer science from the Institute of Macromolecular Chemistry, which is part of the Academy of Science in Kiev.

In other action, the board approved the retirements of one faculty member and four staff members. Those retiring, their years of service and effective retirement dates are: Barbara Hemphill-Pearson, associate professor of occupational therapy, 18 years, Dec. 31, 1999; Evelyn Freemire, administrative assistant in the University Counseling and Testing Center, 13 and 1/2 years, Jan. 4, 1999; Corrine Nadrasik, supervisor of nursing in Sindecuse Health Center, 10 years, Oct. 1, 1998; Dale L. Sherburn, custodian in building, custodial and support services, 14 years, Oct. 31, 1998; and Sally L. Stickan, assignment supervisor in the Office of Residence Hall Facilities, 12 and 1/2 years, Sept. 30, 1998.

The board also approved the resignations of these five faculty members: Dr. Sanjay L. Ahire, associate professor of management, effective Aug. 9, 1998; Dr. Christine M. Bahr, associate professor of special education, effective Aug. 15, 1998; Dr. Paul M. Lane, associate professor of marketing, effective Aug. 9, 1998; James Martz, associate professor of theatre, effective Aug. 15, 1998; and Dr. Catherine C. Sielke, assistant professor of educational leadership, effective Aug. 9, 1998.

Media contact: Cheryl Roland, 616 387-8400, cheryl.roland@wmich.edu

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
616 387-8400