WMU News

Geology becomes Department of Geosciences

October 30, 1998

DETROIT -- Western Michigan University's Department of Geology is no longer. The department is now officially the Department of Geosciences, following approval of the new name by the WMU Board of Trustees at its Oct. 30 meeting.

The department requested the name change to more accurately reflect the scope and emphasis of its programs. The department currently offers six undergraduate degree programs in the areas of geology, hydrogeology, earth science teaching, earth science non-teaching and geophysics. It also offers two graduate programs in earth science and geology and a doctoral program in hydrogeology. The new name is more characteristic of programs at other universities that offer more than one program in the same department.

The department, which went under the name of geology since its inception in 1965, will officially be the Department of Geosciences, effective immediately.

In a related action, the board also approved the change of department affiliation for twelve faculty members formerly in geology, and now affiliated with the Department of Geosciences.

Media contact: Marie Lee, 616 387-8400, marie.lee@wmich.edu

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
616 387-8400