WMU News

35 to be inducted into 25 Year Club

November 19, 1998

KALAMAZOO -- Thirty-five faculty and staff members who have completed 25 years of continuous service at Western Michigan University are eligible for induction into WMU's 25 Year Club at the annual banquet Tuesday, December 1, in the North Ballroom of the Bernhard Center. The 25 Year Club will also induct Anthony E. (Tony) Griffin posthumously.

The club, which will now have 318 active and 327 retired members, was founded in 1982 with 98 charter members.

Those eligible for induction at this year's banquet are: Charles W. Amos, chief supervisor in the recreation and sports region of the physical plant-building custodial and support services; Joy F. Bentley, manager of the University post office in logistical services (retired 1998); Robert J. Brown, director of public safety; Mary Anne V. Bunda professor of educational leadership; Libby M. Catt, bindery services coordinator for University libraries;

Ronald B. Chase, professor of geosciences; Darrel R. Drummond, a programmer analyst in University computing services; Stuart J. Dybek, professor of English; Marilyn J. Gillette, assistant director of the WMU Bookstore; William B. Harrison III, professor of geosciences; Christian R. Hirsch, professor of mathematics and statistics; Yat-Lam Hong, a piano technician in music;

David K. Isaacson, professor of University libraries; M. Jamie Jeremy, director of alumni relations in external affairs; Joel A. Jones, millwright in physical plant-building custodial and support services; Peter Kobrak, professor of public affairs and administration; Trent P. Kynaston, professor of music; David D. Lake, custodian, physical plant-building custodial and support services; Jay D. Lindquist, professor of marketing;

Robert H. Luscombe, dean of the College of Fine Arts; Gail L. MacNellis, executive secretary in the College of Fine Arts; Maria H. D. McGurn, student advisor in the College of Arts and Sciences; Carol A. Olmstead, administrative secretary in University computing services; Howard R. Poole, professor of special education; David A. Ragan, a sergeant in public safety; Stefan Sulo Sarenius, maps coordinator for University libraries;

David B. Schneider, refrigerator repairperson in physical plant-maintenance services; Leonard E. Srackangast, a supervisor for physical plant-building custodial and support services; Daniel L. Stufflebeam, director of the Evaluation Center and the Harold and Beulah McKee Professor of Education; Rodney Wade, custodian in physical plant-building custodial and support services; Bob E. White, professor of industrial and manufacturing engineering;

Kenneth L. Williams, professor of computer science; Molly W. Williams, associate dean in the College of Engineering and Applied Sciences; Robin A. Williams, monographic acquisitions coordinator for University libraries; and W. Wilson Woods, director of operations for the Office of International Affairs.

Tony Griffin, who died at age 51 on December 30, 1997, was director of news and public affairs for WMUK, the University's public radio station. Griffin would have had 25 years of service in March 1998. A few days before his death, Griffin requested that he be inducted into the 25 Year Club. At the banquet on December 1, Robin Griffin will accept that honor on behalf of her late husband.

The 25 Year Club was established by the WMU Board of Trustees as a way to recognize the valuable contributions made to the University by its employees who have committed their careers to WMU. New members receive a 25-year service pin and framed certificate, and they may choose from a selection of commemorative gifts. New, active and retired members are guests of the University for the evening.

Media contact: Cheryl Roland, 616 387-8400, cheryl.roland@wmich.edu

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
616 387-8400