WMU News

Krause, Franklin elected board officers

January 22, 1999

KALAMAZOO -- Joan H. Krause of Grand Rapids and George A. Franklin of Kalamazoo have been elected to one-year terms as chairperson and vice chairperson, respectively, of the Western Michigan University Board of Trustees.

The election took place at the board's annual meeting Jan. 22, as provided in its bylaws. The annual meeting is one of eight regularly scheduled board meetings during the year. Both Krause and Franklin previously have held board offices.

Krause, a 1972 communication graduate of WMU, joined the board in 1993. She is a co-owner with Amy Neis of Krause & Neis, an interior design firm in Grand Rapids. She served for the past year as the board's vice chairperson and succeeds Lori B. Waddles of Oak Park as chairperson.

Franklin, who was appointed to the board in 1989, is vice president for worldwide government affairs at the Kellogg Co. in Battle Creek. He is a graduate of American University in Washington, D.C., where he earned both bachelor's and law degrees.

Other officers re-elected to one-year terms were: Betty A. Kocher, secretary to the board; Robert M. Beam, treasurer and assistant secretary; and Lowell P. Rinker, assistant treasurer. Beam is the University's vice president for business and finance. Rinker is associate vice president for business.

In other action, the board approved the re-appointment of Deloitte & Touche as the University's external auditor for the 1998-99 fiscal year. The firm has served as external auditor since 1997.

The board also approved a five-year lease agreement between WMU and the WMU chapter of the American Association of University Professors for Montague House, located on Oakland Drive. The chapter uses the historic home as its office.

Media contact: Mike Matthews, 616 387-8400, michael.matthews@wmich.edu

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
616 387-8400