WMU News

Faculty Senate re-elects officers at March meeting

March 29, 1999

KALAMAZOO -- Raymond E. Alie, Department of Management, and Ralph Tanner, Department of Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, have been re-elected to one-year terms as president and vice president of the Western Michigan University Faculty Senate.

In addition, Sisay Asefa, Department of Economics, and John M. Hanley, chair of the Department of Speech Pathology and Audiology, were elected to three-year terms as senators-at-large. Peter W. Krawutschke, Department of Languages and Linguistics, was re-elected to a three-year term.

Nineteen other faculty members were elected or re-elected to the senate in the election that took place by mail last month. Their terms begin in April.

Alie, a member of the senate since 1992, previously has served as treasurer and on the Undergraduate Studies Council, where he served as vice chair and chair of subcommittees. He is a current member of the Admissions, Financial Aid and Student Affairs Council.

Tanner, a senate member since 1993, previously served as recording secretary and representative-at-large. He was a member of the senate's MLK Day Committee for two years and has been active in the WMU chapter of the AAUP.

Media contact: Mike Matthews, 616 387-8400, michael.matthews@wmich.edu

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
616 387-8400