WMU News

Trustees approve retirements of seven faculty, four staff members

Oct. 8, 1999

KALAMAZOO -- The retirements of seven faculty members and four staff members were approved by the Western Michigan University Board of Trustees at its Oct. 7 meeting.

The faculty members retiring with emeriti status, along with their years of continuous service and effective dates of retirement are: John M. Carney, professor of art, 34 years, effective April 22, 2000; Dr. Philip P. Hsieh, professor of mathematics and statistics, 36 years, effective June 30, 2000; Dr. Robert O. LaDuke, professor of blind rehabilitation, 26 years, effective July 1, 2000; Dr. James C. Petersen, professor of sociology and associate dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, 25 years, effective Sept. 7, 1999; Dr. Robert I. Sundick, professor of anthropology, 31 years, effective June 30, 2000; Dr. Michael D. Swords, professor of science studies, 28-1/2 years, effective Jan. 1, 2001; and Dr. Lawrence L. Tyler, professor of sociology, 30 years, effective April 2000.

The staff members retiring are: Lossie McPherson, a custodian in building custodial and support services, 19-1/2 years, effective Aug. 31, 1999; Richard F. Simon, a maintenance roofer in the maintenance services area of physical plant, 18 years, effective Aug. 31, 1999; Richard D. Snyder, director of Miller Auditorium, 12 years, effective June 30, 2000; and Anne E. Thompson, director of compensation and employee relations in the Department of Human Resources, 18-1/2 years, effective Aug. 31, 1999.

Media contact: Jeanne Baron, 616 387-8400, jeanne.baron@wmich.edu

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
616 387-8400