WMU News

Committee seeks faculty scholar nominations

Oct. 1, 1999

KALAMAZOO -- The Distinguished Faculty Scholar Committee is seeking nominations for the 1999-2000 Distinguished Faculty Scholar Awards.

The deadline for nominations is Jan. 14, 2000. Up to three awards may be made each year. Those honored during this cycle will be announced late next year. Each winner will receive a $2,000 honorarium, which becomes part of the recipient's base salary, a plaque and an opportunity to present a lecture, exhibition or performance for the University community.

All current, continuing board-appointed persons with faculty rank are eligible, including part-time as well as full-time faculty. They must have at least seven academic years of service to WMU prior to nomination. No individual may receive the award more than once.

The awards are based on outstanding professional achievements. The accomplishments may be artistic, historical, literary, philosophical, scientific or technical. Wide recognition beyond WMU is essential. The award will be based on a body of achievement rather than a particular piece of work and a substantial part of the work must have been accomplished as a WMU faculty member.

Guidelines and nomination forms have been distributed on campus recently. For more information about the process, contact Ernst A. Breisach, history and chair of the selection committee, at 616 387-4637 or <ernst.breisach@wmich.edu>.

Media contact: Cheryl Roland, 616 387-8400, cheryl.roland@wmich.edu

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
616 387-8400