WMU News

37 faculty and staff members to be inducted into 25 Year Club

Nov. 24, 1999

KALAMAZOO -- Thirty-seven faculty and staff members who have completed 25 years of continuous service at Western Michigan University are eligible for induction into WMU's 25 Year Club at the annual banquet Tuesday, Nov. 30, in the North Ballroom of the Bernhard Center.

The club, which will now have 322 active and 356 retired members, was founded in 1982 with 98 charter members.

Those eligible for induction at this year's banquet are: Nanci M. Aalsburg, library systems specialist in University libraries; Janice K. Argue, senior project analyst in grants and contracts; Sue L. Barnette, assistant to the director in the School of Social Work; John W. Benson, chairperson and professor of foreign languages and literatures; David J. Blowers, equipment operator in physical plant-landscape services;

Patricia A. Brown, administrative secretary in finance and commercial law; Mary Ann Bush, professor of occupational therapy (retired 1999); Anna Kay Campbell, assistant professor of psychology (retired 1999); Barbara V. Caras-Tomczak, student advisor in the Haworth College of Business; Thomas A. Carey, professor of management;

Wesley R. Carpenter, captain of parking services, public safety; Margaret (Margo) E. Chapman, administrative secretary in mathematics and statistics; AnnMarie Cox, executive secretary, Office of the Vice President for Business and Finance; Lowell E. Crow, professor of marketing; Thomas L. Deckard, assistant professor of aviation (retired 1999);

Sandra J. Edwards, associate professor of occupational therapy; Wil B. Emmert, research and program officer, Office of the Vice President for Research; Kenneth J. Fifelski, manager of remodeling services in physical plant; Leigh W. Fitzgerald, Jr., sergeant in public safety; David G. Houghton, associate professor and chairperson of the political science; Robert O. LaDuke, associate professor of blind rehabilitation; Mark S. Liberacki, systems specialist in the College of Arts and Sciences; Pamela G. Liberacki, associate director of admissions and orientation;

Randall K. Lung, assistant manager of Brink Printing Services; Janey Lutzka, manager of the WMU Apartments; Kenneth H. McCann, millwright and maintenance mechanic in physical plant-maintenance services; Bruce Naftel, associate professor of art; Carl D. Neff, power plant operator; Peter G. Northouse, professor of communication; Howard J. Ross, lieutenant in public safety; Kanti S. Sandhu, manager of cable programming in University Video Services;

Beatrice Sichel, professor and head of circulation and reserves in University libraries; Janet B. Srackangast, receiving clerk in physical plant-administrative services; Larry J. tenHarmsel, professor of English; Victoria A. Wade, supervisor, projects/carpet specialist in physical plant-building custodial and support services; Klazina A. Welch, administrative assistant in industrial and manufacturing engineering; and Rudy Ziehl, research and program officer, Office of the Vice President for Research.

The 25 Year Club was established by the WMU Board of Trustees as a way to recognize the valuable contributions made to the University by its employees who have committed their careers to Western. New members receive a 25-year service pin and framed certificate, and they may choose from a selection of commemorative gifts. New, active and retired members are guests of the University for the evening.

Media contact: Cheryl Roland, 616 387-8400, cheryl.roland@wmich.edu

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
616 387-8400