WMU News

25 Year Club welcomes 38 new members

Nov. 28, 2000

KALAMAZOO -- Thirty-eight faculty and staff members who have completed 25 years of continuous service at Western Michigan University are eligible for induction into WMU's 25 Year Club at the annual gala, Wednesday, Nov. 29, at the Bernhard Center.

The club, which now has 321 active and 383 retired members, was founded in 1982 with 98 charter members.

Those eligible for induction this year are: Henry H. Beam, professor of management; Gail Otis Birch, coordinator of music budgets in the School of Music; Joel P. Bowman, professor of business information systems; Ronald G. Canard, supervisor in physcal plant-maintenance services; Susan K. Carlson, associate professor of speech pathology and audiology; Margaret (Peg) J. Corbin, manager of Davis Hall dining service;

David A. Corstange, senior associate director of intercollegiate athletics; William M. Cremin, professor of anthropology; Ruth A. DeYoung, assistant baker in Valley II dining service; Robert J. Dlouhy, language specialist in the Career English Language Center for International Students; Judy K. Dunn, athletic equipment handler in University Recreation Programs and Facilities;

Stephen M. Ferguson, accelerator physicist in the Department of Physics; Chuck J. Forman, supervisor in physical plant-maintenance services; Kathleen A. Goyer, office coordinator in the Department of Management; Brenda S. Grimm, clerk in Brink Printing Services; Barbara L. Harris, associate professor of educational studies; Arthur W. Hoadley, professor of mechanical and aeronautical engineering;

Leander C. Jones, professor of black Americana studies; Pamela G. Keesler, language specialist in the Career English Language Center for International Students; Timothy R. Kellogg, manager of business services; Elizabeth B. Lockett, affirmative action assistant in the Office of Institutional Equity; James F. McCarthy, associate professor of music; William L. Myers, senior photocopy operator in Brink Printing Services;

Frank Peck, custodian in physical plant-building custodial and support services; Donald P. Penskar, purchasing agent in logistical services; Paul A. Pingel, heavy equipment operator II in physical plant-landscape services; Lynda A. Rhodes, finance specialist in accounting; Steven C. Rhodes, professor and chairperson of the Department of Communication; Darryl A. Salisbury, language specialist with Career English Language Center for International Students;

James R. Sanders, professor of educational studies and associate director of the Evaluation Center; Nancy K. Sluss, grounds/laborer in physical plant-landscape services; Diane A. Sopjes, assistant manager of Valley I dining service; Hazel L. Starcher, assistant to the dean of the College of Health and Human Services; Carole A. VanDyken, custodian in physical plant-building custodial and support services;

Thomas G. Waltz, carpet cleaner in physical plant-building custodial and support services; Benjamin C. Wilson, professor of black Americana studies; Brian L. Wilson, professor of music; and Paul L. Yelsma, professor of communication.

The 25 Year Club was established by the WMU Board of Trustees as a way to recognize the valuable contributions made to the University by its employees who have committed their careers to University. New members receive a 25-year service pin and framed certificate, and they may choose from a selection of commemorative gifts. New, active and retired members are guests of the University for the evening.

Media contact: Cheryl Roland, 616 387-8400, cheryl.roland@wmich.edu

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
616 387-8400