WMU News

Top seniors honored at March 20 ceremony

March 13, 2001

KALAMAZOO -- Western Michigan University's top seniors will be recognized at the 21st annual Presidential Scholars Convocation Tuesday, March 20, at the Fetzer Center.

A total of 45 students will be presented as Presidential Scholars, WMU's highest honor to a senior. The convocation will begin with a reception at 6 p.m., followed by dinner and a program.

Seniors are nominated for the Presidential Scholar award by faculty members. They are selected on the basis of their general academic excellence, academic and/or artistic excellence in their major and intellectual and/or artistic promise.

Five Presidential Scholars will give short presentations on the theme of this year's ceremony. Speaking on "Learning Locally: Acting Globally," will be Tiwanna L. DeMoss, an anthropology major from Southfield, Mich.; Evan B. Fonger, a chemistry major from Schoolcraft, Mich.; Heather E. Gott, an environmental studies major from Elwell, Mich.; Sarah M. Stocchiero, an integrated supply management major from Bangor, Mich.; Amy M. Watson, an art and biological sciences major from Portage, Mich.

Dr. Ralph Tanner, president of the Faculty Senate, will preside at the convocation and WMU President Elson S. Floyd will present certificates to the scholars. The event, intended to celebrate the excellence of WMU students, is sponsored by the Faculty Senate and the Office of the President.

Media contact: Cheryl Roland, 616 387-8400, cheryl.roland@wmich.edu

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
616 387-8400