WMU News

Twelve staff members honored for excellence

March 29, 2001

KALAMAZOO -- Twelve outstanding WMU staff members have been selected to receive semiannual Staff Service Excellence Awards in the winter round of the awards program.

Each recipient will receive a $100 prize and commemorative certificate. Staff Service Excellence Award recipients are nominated by their peers and selected by a group of peers to recognize excellence in service far beyond job requirements.

Selected from the ranks of American Federation of State County and Municipal Employees was Donald Weaver, physical plant-landscape services.

Eleven winners are from the professional, administrative, clerical and technical employee groups. They are: Luanne Bigelow, accountancy; Gaurav Dave, College of Aviation; Betsy Drummer, SAMPI-science studies; Denise M. Forman, physical plant-landscape services; Lori A. Krum, physics; Megan McCoy, catering; Kimberly R. Peters, Study Abroad; Mary Swartz, continuing education-Traverse City Regional Center; Joanne K. VandenBerg, continuing education-Muskegon Regional Center; Judy Walters, Ombudsman's Office; and Alicia J. Yeagley, communication.

Winners of the winter '01 and fall '00 semiannual awards are the candidates from which four employees will be selected to win annual awards, with a $1,000 prize, later this spring. More information on the annual awards will be available soon.

Media contact: Cheryl Roland, 616 387-8400, cheryl.roland@wmich.edu

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
616 387-8400