WMU News

Nine staff members honored for excellence

Nov. 30, 2001

KALAMAZOO -- Nine outstanding WMU staff members have been selected to receive semiannual Staff Service Excellence Awards, and each will receive a $100 prize and commemorative certificate.

Staff Service Excellence Award recipients are nominated by their peers and selected by a committee made up of employee group representatives to recognize excellence in service far beyond job requirements.

Two winners are from the ranks of the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employes: Deborah A. Mitchell, Bernhard Center dining service; and Robert D. Purk, physical plant-landscape services.

Seven winners are from the professional, administrative, clerical and technical employee groups: Sherrie Y. Fuller, multicultural affairs; Rena J. Lynema, Diether H. Haenicke Institute for International and Area Studies; Karin H. Moses, paper and printing science and engineering; Marilyn K. Rowe, College of Arts and Sciences; Dawn J. VanderPloeg, Auxiliary Enterprises; Kevin B. Vichcales, Graduate College; and Kathryn A. Wright, geosciences.

Winners of the fall '01 and winter '02 semiannual awards are the candidates from which four employees will be selected in spring '02 to win an annual award with a $1,000 prize. The winter '02 semiannual round will be announced in late February.

Media contact: Cheryl Roland, 616 387-8400, cheryl.roland@wmich.edu

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
616 387-8400