WMU News

Committee formed to mount search for new president

Nov. 21, 2002

KALAMAZOO -- Richard Y. St. John, chairperson of the Western Michigan University Board of Trustees, will lead a 14-member Presidential Search Advisory Committee charged with identifying candidates for the post that will be vacated in January by current WMU President Elson S. Floyd.

St. John of Kalamazoo and board vice chairperson Birgit M. Klohs of Grand Rapids, Mich., who also will serve on the committee, will bring the complete committee roster to their fellow trustees for approval at the full board's Dec. 13 meeting. St. John will serve as chairperson of the search committee. Earlier this month, he announced the board intends to have a new president in place by the beginning of the fall semester 2003.

Floyd, who has served as WMU's sixth president since August 1998, has resigned his post, effective Jan. 5, 2003. He is leaving WMU to become president of the University of Missouri's four-campus system. His selection for that position was announced by Missouri Nov. 13.

In addition to St. John and Klohs, other members of the search committee that will be presented to the board include two other trustees; representatives of WMU's administration, faculty, staff, emeriti, students and alumni; and the general public.

Search Committee Members

Trustee Vernice D. Anthony of Detroit

Trustee James Holden of Bloomfield Hills, Mich.

Dr. Ariel L. H. Anderson, WMU professor of teaching, learning and leadership

Susan Broman, executive director of the Steelcase Foundation of Grand Rapids, Mich.

Dr. Linda M. Delene, WMU vice provost for academic planning and assessment

Dr. Adrian "Ed" Edwards, chairperson of WMU's Department of Finance and Commercial Law

George A. Franklin, WMU trustee emeritus and vice president of the Kellogg Co. of Battle Creek, Mich.

Dr. Peter W. Krawutschke, WMU professor of foreign languages and literatures and president of the WMU Faculty Senate

Dr. Gary Mathews, WMU professor of social work and president of the WMU chapter of the American Association of University Professors

Judith K. Phelps, administrative assistant in WMU's Office of Admissions and Orientation

Angela D. Sillmon, a senior computer information systems major from Plymouth, Mich.

Dr. Lewis Walker, WMU professor emeritus of sociology

Both Anderson and Walker served on the 1997-98 Presidential Search Advisory Committee that brought Floyd to WMU.

Visit the Presidential Search News page in WMU News for a complete list of news releases and official announcements regarding the search for Western Michigan University's next president.

Media contact: Matt Kurz, 269 387-8400, matt.kurz@wmich.edu

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
269 387-8400