WMU News

Nine staff members honored for excellence

Nov. 19, 2002

KALAMAZOO -- Nine outstanding staff members at Western Michigan University will receive semiannual Staff Service Excellence Awards, with a $100 prize and commemorative certificate. Award recipients are nominated by their peers and selected by a group of peers to recognize excellence in service far beyond job requirements.

Two winners are from the AFSCME ranks: John Disbro, Physical Plant-Landscape Services; and Shelly L. Russell, Physical Plant-Building Custodial and Support Services. Seven winners are from the professional, administrative, clerical and technical employee groups: Annie R. Dobbs, Department of Chemistry; Deanna J. Hinkle, Development Office; Barbara T. McKinney, Department of Mathematics; Rosemary Nichols, Extended University Programs; Maureen Price, Office of the General Counsel; Cynthia L. Seedorff, Medieval Institute; and Richard H. Welch, Department of Physics.

Winners of the fall 2002 and winter 2003 semiannual awards are the candidates from whom four employees will be selected to win an annual Staff Service Excellence Award, with a $1,000 prize, in spring 2003.

Media contact: Cheryl Roland, 269 387-8400, cheryl.roland@wmich.edu

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
269 387-8400