WMU News

Faculty and staff honored for 25 years of service

Dec. 10, 2002

KALAMAZOO -- Dozens of Western Michigan University faculty and staff members were recently honored for their quarter-century of service to the University.

Forty-four employees were inducted Dec. 3 into WMU's 25 Year Club at the annual gala held at the Bernhard Center. New, active and retired members were guests of the University for the evening.

The club, which now has 339 active and 444 retired members, was founded in 1982 with 98 charter inductees. The WMU Board of Trustees established the club as a way to recognize the valuable contributions made to the University by employees who commit their careers to the institution. New members receive a 25-year service pin and framed certificate, and they may choose from a selection of commemorative gifts.

Those inducted this year were:

Halbert E. Bates, director of academic advising, Haworth College of Business; Joan D. Bynum, office associate, School of Music; Janet S. Callahan, administrative specialist, College of Health and Human Services; Patricia K. Campbell, carpenter, Physical Plant-Maintenance Services Division; Carolyn E. Cardwell, office coordinator, Department of Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology; William D. Cochran, millwright/maintenance mechanic, Physical Plant-Maintenance Services Division; Dr. Donald F. Cooney, associate professor, School of Social Work;

Kathryn A. Dalman, accountant, Plant Accounting; Griselda Daniel, assistant to the dean and director of diversity programs, Graduate College; Pearl L. DeVries, office associate, Department of Mathematics; Dr. Linda M. Delene, vice provost for academic planning and assessment, Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs; Judith A. Garrison, resource sharing coordinator, University Libraries; Dr. Leonard C. Ginsberg, associate dean, College of Arts and Sciences;

Dr. Richard B. Hathaway, professor, Department of Mechanical and Aeronautical Engineering; Dr. Charles E. Hines Jr., associate professor, Department of Accountancy; Ann E. Houser, manager of information processing, Human Resources; Margie P. Johnson, manager, Valley #2 Dining Service; Dr. Elise B. Jorgens, dean, College of Arts and Sciences;

Blaine D. Kalafut, deputy chief of police, Department of Public Safety; Patricia A. Keck, budget officer, Office of University Budgets; Dr. Mark C. Kerstetter, associate professor, Department of Computer Science; Bonneita K. Kibby, custodian, Physical Plant-Building Custodial and Support Services; Carolyn Kitchen, carpet cleaner, Physical Plant-Building Custodial and Support Services; James A. Knight, assistant manager, Valley #2 Dining Service; Betty A. Kocher, secretary, Board of Trustees Office; Lori A. Krum, office coordinator, Department of Physics;

Dr. Mushtaq Luqmani, professor, Department of Marketing; Karen S. McDougall, senior finance clerk, Institute of Cistercian Studies; William J. Merrow, lab coordinator, Mallinson Institute for Science Education; Carol A. Morris-Mier, office associate, Admissions and Advising, College of Education; Judy A. O'Donnell, academic records specialist, Registrar's Office; Dr. Richard M. Oxhandler, professor, University Counseling and Testing Center;

Karen A. Page, custodian, Physical Plant-Building Custodial and Support Services; Trudy L. Palm, apprentice building serviceperson, Physical Plant-Maintenance Services; Dr. David K. Peterson, associate professor, Department of Paper and Printing Science and Engineering; Dr. Maija Petersons, professor, Department of Family and Consumer Sciences; Mary E. Ramlow, office coordinator, Evaluation Center;

Nancy J. Salvaggio, finance analyst, Sindecuse Health Center; Marsha H. Santow, senior library assistant, University Libraries; Kenneth F. Schaefer, coordinator of transfer relations and articulation, Admissions and Orientation Department; Theodore L. Skartsiaris, manager, Valley #1 Dining Service; Patricia F. Vander Meer, professor, University Libraries; Dr. Thomas L. Van Valey, chairperson, Department of Sociology; and Dr. Robert M. Wygant, professor, Department of Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering.

Media contact: Jessica English, 269 387-8400, jessica.english@wmich.edu

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
269 387-8400