WMU News

University community invited to attend reception for legislators

Feb. 10, 2003

KALAMAZOO -- Members of the Western Michigan University community will get a chance to meet the state legislators who represent Southwest Michigan during a Monday, Feb. 17, campus reception.

Alumni, faculty, staff and students are invited to join Interim President Daniel Litynski and other WMU administrators for the reception, which is set for 5 to 7 p.m. in the Fetzer Center. The event will honor Michigan legislators elected Nov. 7 to represent Southwest Michigan.

The reception is sponsored by the WMU Alumni Association, the Office of the President and the Office of Legislative Affairs. A short program will begin at 5:30 p.m. and feature remarks by Litynski and by U.S. Rep. Fred Upton.

Members of the Michigan House being honored at the event include Reps. Charles LaSata of St. Joseph, Alexander Lipsey of Kalamazoo, Mary Ann Middaugh of Paw Paw, Jack Hoogendyk of Portage, Neal Nitz of Baroda, Mike Nofs of Convis Township, Rick Shaffer of Three Rivers, Fulton Sheen of Plainwell and Lorence Wenke of Kalamazoo.

State senators being honored are Patricia Birkholz of Saugatuck, Cameron Brown of Sturgis, Tom George of Kalamazoo, Ron Jelinek of Three Oaks and Mark Schauer of Battle Creek.

Light refreshments will be served at the event. Alumni, faculty, staff and students planning to attend are asked to call toll free (888) WMU INFO (968-4636) by Friday, Feb. 14, to make a reservation.

Media contact: Cheryl Roland, 269 387-8400, cheryl.roland@wmich.edu

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
269 387-8400