WMU News

Trustees approve retirements

Dec. 15, 2003

KALAMAZOO--The retirements of two faculty members and 14 staff members were approved by the Western Michigan University Board of Trustees at its Dec. 12 meeting. Trustees also accepted the resignations of three faculty members.

Both of the faculty members who are retiring are doing so with emeriti status. Their names, titles, years of continuous service and effective dates of retirement are: Dr. Leonard J. Beuving, professor of biological sciences, 34-1/2 years, effective April 24, 2004; and Dr. Robert M. Wygant, professor of industrial and manufacturing engineering, 26-1/2 years, effective May 2, 2004.

The staff members retiring are: Gus H. Breymann, WMU-Lansing campus director, 22-1/2 years, effective Feb. 15, 2004; Diane C. Campbell, custodian in building, custodial and support services, 25 years, effective Nov. 30, 2003; Marvin L. Darling, laboratory director at Sindecuse Health Center, 39 years, effective Dec. 31, 2003; Fred A. Decker, head baseball coach, 36 years, effective June 30, 2004; Alice J. Field, utility food worker in dining services, 10 years, effective Jan. 31, 2004; Michael A. Finn, Department of Communication lab supervisor, 15 years, effective Dec. 31, 2003; Sheila A. Johnson, nurse at Sindecuse Health Center, 14 years, effective Dec. 31, 2003; Dr. Chester B. Rogers, professor of political science and associate vice president/director for academic collective bargaining and contract administration, 37-1/2 years, effective Jan. 2, 2004; Pamela D. Ross, administrative assistant in the Unified Clinics, 11-1/2 years, effective Jan. 31, 2004; Sarah A. Sims, custodian in building custodial and support services, 13 years, effective May 31, 2004; Ruth A. Wagner, office associate in maintenance services, 20 years, effective Dec. 31, 2003; Albert C. Whitlock, painter in maintenance services, 15-1/2 years, effective Sept. 24, 2003; Irene R. Woldring, pharmacist at Sindecuse Health Center, 25-1/2 years, effective Feb. 1, 2004; and Marilyn J. Youngs, groundskeeper II in landscape services, 19 years, effective Dec. 31, 2003.

The faculty members resigning are: Cybele Clark-Mendes, assistant professor of art, effective Dec. 12, 2003; Angela C. Counterman, instructor of nursing, effective Aug. 4, 2003; and William E. Pease, faculty specialist in music and the WMU Marching Band director, effective Dec. 31, 2003.

Media contact: Jeanne Baron, 269 387-8400, jeanne.baron@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
269 387-8400