WMU News

Faculty, staff honored for dedicating careers to WMU

Jan. 9, 2004

KALAMAZOO--Dozens of Western Michigan University faculty and staff members were recently honored for their quarter-century of service to the University.

Fifty-eight employees were inducted Dec. 3 into WMU's 25 Year Club at the annual gala held at the Bernhard Center. New, active and retired members were guests of the University for the evening.

The club, which now has 368 active and 458 retired members, was founded in 1982 with 98 charter inductees. The WMU Board of Trustees established the club as a way to recognize the valuable contributions made to the University by employees who commit their careers to the institution. New members receive a 25-year service pin and framed certificate, and they may choose from a selection of commemorative gifts.

WMU 25 Year Club Inductees

Dr. Roberta Allen, professor of business information systems; Connie L. Altman, production analyst, Office of Information Technology; Lon E. Baird, buyer, Department of Chemistry; Mitchell P. Beare, operations supervisor, Bernhard Center; Dr. Joseph J. Belonax, Jr., professor of marketing; Victoria L. Beyene, equipment operator I, physical plant-landscape services; C. Jean Bickel, lead credit evaluator, Office of Admissions; Dr. Gary E. Bigelow, associate professor of Spanish;

Lyndell R. Bleyer, director, Community Information Systems and Research Services; Dr. Robert Brinkerhoff, professor of counselor education and counseling psychology; Vena D. Brower, refrigeration repair-licensed, physical plant-maintenance services; Diane C. Campbell, custodian, physical plant-building custodial and support services; Leon J. Coleman, building project specialist, physical plant-building custodial and support services; Laura L. Coville, carpet cleaner, physical plant-building custodial and support services; Jean Decker, equipment operator I, physical plant-landscape services; Carol L. Farrance, office associate, WMU Apartments; Karen Ferrara, office associate, Burnham Dining Service;

Rita A. Franks, coordinator, documents, University Libraries; Elias Fuentes, building project specialist, physical plant-building custodial and support services; Jerry W. Fulbright, Sr., cement finisher, physical plant-landscape services; Glenn D. Hall, lab coordinator, Department of Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering; Raymond G. Hallock, carpet and tile layer, physical plant-maintenance services; Sue M. Hampton, custodian-campuswide, physical plant-building custodial and support services; Paul F. Heintz, coordinator, serial acquisitions, University Libraries; Terence A. Hudson, director, WMU Bookstore; Deborah L. Hughson, office associate, Bernhard Center Dining Service; Robert L. Johnson, security administrator, Office of Information Technology; Linda Jones, skilled trades helper, physical plant-maintenance services;

Georgia C. Kerby, associate registrar, registrar's office; Dr. Dionysios I. Kountanis, associate professor of computer science; Jane E. Kramer, certification officer, teacher certification, College of Education; Dr. Ronald C. Kramer, professor of sociology; Dr. Gary D. Lawson, associate professor of speech pathology and audiology; Sarah E. McChesney, office assistant, football office, intercollegiate athletics; Michael P. McDonnell, assistant professor, University Libraries; Betty J. McKain, director, grants and contracts; Dr. Joseph W. McKean, professor of statistics;

Michele C. McLaughlin, office coordinator, Department of English; Bettina S. Meyer, assistant dean, University Libraries; Deborah N. Newson, director, Muskegon campus, Extended University Programs; Robert E. Norlin, carpet cleaner, physical plant-building custodial and support services; Leisa L. Perry, office associate, College of Aviation; Vonceal L. Phillips, office associate, Office of Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs; Dr. Alan D. Poling; professor of psychology; Dr. Paul E. Ponchillia, chair, Department of Blindness and Low Vision Studies;

Dr. Zahir A. Quraeshi, professor of marketing; Greg D. Roehrick, professor of theatre; Dr. Christopher J. Schmidt, professor of geosciences; C. Dennis Simpson, professor of physician assistant; David H. Smith, director, graphics and design, Office of University Relations; Gary L. Snell, custodian, physical plant-building custodial and support services; Cindy Lou Thorpe, office coordinator, University Counseling and Testing Center; Pauline M. Trembley, director, information systems, Department of Human Resources;

Barbara A. Vilenski, administrative assistant, Department of Paper Engineering, Chemical Engineering and Imaging; Irene R. Woldring, pharmacist, Sindecuse Health Center; Alicia J. Yeagley, office coordinator, Department of Communication; and Stephen L. Zegree, professor, School of Music.

Media contact: Cheryl Roland, 269 387-8400, cheryl.roland@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
269 387-8400