WMU News

New works debut at playwriting showcase

April 12, 2004

KALAMAZOO--A reader's theatre presentation will mark the end of the spring semester for Western Michigan University student playwrights in one of the English Department's introductory playwriting courses.

The performance, which is free and open to the public, begins at 7:30 p.m. Thursday, April 15, in 2302 Sangren Hall. Refreshments will be offered.

The April 15 presentation highlights short scenes, dialogues and one page plays from guest instructor Bethany Gauthier's playwriting course. The lineup includes new works by Johanna Blanchard, Brianne Bloom, Ryan Dolley, Andrea Gray, Joseph Jasina, Dave Jenkins, John Krause, Justin Roberts and Kate Walker.

Performers will include fellow playwriting students, WMU Theatre students, as well as actors from other area theatres.

Numerous plays from the WMU playwriting program, particularly those showcased at past end-of-semester readings, have won productions and awards at area theatres. Playwright Johanna Blanchard, whose work is featured in the reading, will be honored with an Honorable Mention in Playwriting in the WMU Creative Writing Awards earlier that same day at the departmental awards ceremony.

Additional Readers' Theatre performances will take place from 5 to 8 p.m. Tuesday, April 20, on the 10th floor of Sprau Tower. The presentations will feature new works by students in playwriting classes taught by English Department Chair Arnie Johnston and new faculty playwright Steve Feffer. Refreshments will be provided. The April 20 performances will feature work by Graduate Student Playwriting Award winner Diana Fox and prizewinning graduate playwrights Nick Gauthier, Brian Katz, Carey Daniels and Robin Runyan.

For more information on the semester readings, call the Department of English at 269 387-2572.

Media contact: Arnie Johnston, 269 387-2571, arnie.johnston@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
269 387-8400