WMU News

WMU Alumni Association selects leadership

July 22, 2004

KALAMAZOO--Thirteen officers, executive committee members and directors have been elected to terms on the 2004-05 Western Michigan University Alumni Association Board of Directors, effective July 1.

Serving one-year terms as officers are:

President--Anitta Rutherford Orr of Detroit, a retired speech therapist for the Detroit Public Schools. Orr earned a bachelor of science degree from WMU in 1966. She was first elected to the WMU Alumni Association board in 1972, serving until 1977. She was elected to her second stint on the board in 2000 and since then, has served as vice president (2003-04) and a member of the Executive and Finance committees.

Vice president--Dale Tanis of Hamilton, Mich., chief financial officer/senior vice president of finance at the Irwin Seating Co. in Grand Rapids, Mich. Tanis earned two degrees from WMU, a bachelor of arts in 1974 and a master of business administration in 1984. First elected to the board in 2000, he has served as treasurer twice and been chairperson of the Finance Committee as well as a member of the Executive Committee.

Treasurer--Kirk Hoffman of Jackson, Mich., vice president of planning services for the King Trust Co. in Spring Arbor, Mich. Hoffman earned a bachelor of business administration degree from WMU in 1986. First elected to the board in 2001, he has served on the Scholarship and Marketing committees.

Past president--Lynn Kellogg of Benton Harbor, Mich., chief executive officer of the Region IV Area Agency on Aging in St. Joseph, Mich. Kellogg earned two degrees from WMU, a bachelor of social work in 1976 and a master of arts in 1981. She was first elected to the board in 1999 and in addition to president, has served as vice president and a member of the Executive and Distinguished Alumni committees.

Four directors were elected to one-year terms on the WMU Alumni Association's Executive Committee. Joining the organization's officers on this committee are: Richard Annen of San Diego, BBA 1974, a partner in the San Diego-based law firm Sparber Rudolph Annen APLC; Richard D. Bailey II of Dewitt, Mich., MBA 1985, president of commercial banking for Republic Bank in Lansing, Mich.; Bettie Goodman of Flint, Mich., B.S. 1963 and M.A. 1968, professor of information systems and an academic advisor at C.S. Mott Community College in Flint; and Marcia Koestner of Plainwell, Mich., BA. 1974 and M.A. 1984, vice president of human resources for Checker Motors Corp. in Kalamazoo.

Five individuals were elected to their first three-year terms on the board as directors. They are: Margean V. Gladysz, of Tinton Falls, N.J., B.S. 1975, senior vice president and regional director of National Executive Corp in New York; Debra Jones McConnell, of Southfield, Mich., BBA 1981 and previously a one-year board appointee, client advisor and vice president of Bank One Private Client Services in Detroit; T.R. Reid, of Georgetown, Texas, B.S. 1984, director of corporate communications for Dell in Round Rock, Texas; Michael R. Williams, of Manassas, Va., BBA 1978, special agent and criminal investigator for the U.S. Department of Treasury's Office of Inspector General in Washington, D.C.; and Christopher C. Womack, of Atlanta, B.S. 1979, senior production officer and senior vice president of Southern Co. in Atlanta.

The WMU Alumni Association, with more than 13,000 dues-paying members throughout the world, serves the University and its graduates by providing alumni with a continuous link to WMU and each other. For more information about the association, visit <www.wmich.edu/alumni>.

Media contact: Jeanne Baron, 269 387-8400, jeanne.baron@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
269 387-8400