WMU News

Fanfare opens Concert Band season

Oct. 9, 2004

KALAMAZOO--Tuesday, Oct. 19, the Western Michigan University Concert Band presents a show featuring original works for band beginning at 8:15 p.m. in Miller Auditorium. The concert is free and open to the public.

The program, conducted by John Lychner, opens with "Flourish for Wind Band" by British composer Ralph Vaughan Williams. Following this fanfare-style opening, the band performs Persichetti's profound Symphony No. 6, considered one of the great 20th century works for band.

"Latham's Three Chorale Preludes," "Break Forth, O Beauteous Heavenly Light," "O Sacred Head Now Wounded" and "Now Thank We All Our God," follows Persichetti's symphony and provides a look at how a 20th century composer interprets the Baroque chorale prelude.

The program also includes a new work reflecting cave experiences, "The Darkness is Always Soft" by Fraley, conducted by graduate assistant Matthew Westgate.

A trumpet sextet led by WMU trumpet professors Stephen Jones and Scott Thornburg performs "Divertissement--The Three Trumpeters" by Agostini. "Lassus Trombone" by Henry Fillmore concludes the program.

Media contact: Kevin West, 269 387-4678, kevin.west@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
269 387-8400