WMU News

Distinguished Faculty Scholar nominations due

Oct. 29, 2004

KALAMAZOO--The Distinguished Faculty Scholar Committee is seeking nominations for Western Michigan University's 2004-05 Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award. The deadline for nominations is Friday, Jan. 21.

Up to three awards may be made each year. Those selected during this cycle will be honored at a ceremony in late 2005 or early 2006. Each winner will receive a $2,000 honorarium that becomes part of the recipient's base salary, a plaque and an opportunity to present a lecture, exhibition or performance for the university community.

All current, continuing board-appointed persons with faculty rank are eligible, but they must have at least seven academic years of service to WMU. The awards are based on outstanding professional achievements. The accomplishments may be artistic, historical, literary, philosophical, scientific or technical. Wide recognition beyond WMU is essential.

Guidelines and nomination forms are being distributed on campus. For more information, contact Ernst A. Breisach, Department of History, at (269) 387-4590 or <ernst.breisach@wmich.edu>.

Media contact: Cheryl Roland, 269 387-8400, cheryl.roland@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
269 387-8400